Skip to main content
Sign In

Our Colleagues

Lareau to receive American Thoracic Society award

AURORA, Colo. - Suzanne Lareau, RN, MS, FAAN, senior instructor, College of Nursing, will be the recipient of the American Thoracic Society (ATS) 2013 Elizabeth A. Rich, MD, Award. This honor is bestowed on a female member of ATS who has made significant contributions in the fields of pulmonary, critical care and/or sleep medicine and has mentored others. Lareau is the first non-physician recipient of the award since its inception in 2000.
Lynn Reinke, PhD, chair, Assembly on Nursing at ATS, stated that there is no person who deserves the award more than Lareau “who is a pillar of the ATS.” She was one of the nurses who established a Section on Nursing in the mid 1970's that was later named an Assembly. She chaired the Section in its early years, from 1978-79, and was asked by the Nursing Assembly Planning Committee in the 1990's to develop a Section on Pulmonary Rehabilitation which also became an Assembly, in 2007. Lareau chaired both the Section and the Assembly. She also was the first nurse to have a first author publication in the blue journal in 1978. Lareau has participated in numerous ATS task forces and projects, mostly recently The ATS/European Respiratory Society, Joint Task Force to Develop a Statement on Pulmonary Rehabilitation 2011-2013.
Lareau’s award will be celebrated at the Women’s Luncheon at ATS in Philadelphia on May 20 with the celebration continuing in the evening at a social reception co-hosted by the ATS Nursing and Pulmonary Rehab Assemblies.



© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.