Spring 2023 Elections

Elections & Hiring

Be a voice for the student body at CU Denver.  The Student Government Association (SGA) welcomes all students to contribute their ideas and to get involved by running for a position.  By sharing a unique perspectives, students are crucial to addressing the issue we face.  We encourage all CU Denver students, who have paid the spring 2023 student activity fee to vote in the student elections. Positions that are not filled through the spring elections process will be hired in the summer or early fall semester of the next academic year. 

Positions Being Elected in April 2023

  • Executive Officers (President & Vice President candidates run together as a "ticket")
    • SGA President (1)
    • SGA Vice President, Chair of the Senate (1)
  • SGA Vice President, Graduate Affairs (1)
  • Representative, Student Advisory Committee to the Auraria Board (SACAB) (2)
  • Director, Student Fee Review Committee (1) * Must have previous SFRC Experience
  • Director, Events & Planning (1)
  • College Council Representatives:
    • College of Architecture and Planning (1)
    • Business School (1)
    • College of Arts & Media (1)
    • School of Education & Human Development (1)
    • College of Engineering, Design and Computing (1)
    • College of Liberal Arts & Science (1)
    • School of Public Affairs (1)
  • Senator at Large (15)



  • Campaigning will take place between Monday March 27 - April 14, 2023


  • Ballots will be emailed to each students CU Denver email addresses on Monday April 10th and must be cast by 5pm on Friday April 14th.

Elections Forum with Executive Tickets (President & Vice President Candidates)

Elections Timeline:

Friday, March 10Candidate Registration Form Due
Monday-Tuesday, March 13-14Candidate grades & conduct check. 
Wednesday, March 15Candidates are notified if eligible to run.  If eligible the candidate will receive details on the mandatory candidate orientation sessions (choose 1)
Thursday, March 16 (5pm on Zoom)Candidate Orientation Session #1
Friday, March 17 (10am on Zoom)Candidate Orientation Session #2
March 20-24Spring Break
Monday March 20

Deadline to submit Campaign Team Form (this is optional for candidates - you are not required to have a campaign Team.

Monday March 27If using a Campaign Team:  Individual student assisting you needs to turn in an Individual Campaign Team Registration Form
Monday March 27 - April 14Active Campaigning
Wednesday, March 29Optional Campaign YouTube Video Due (send in a MS Teams Message to tierza.watts@ucdenver.edu (Elections Advisor) for upload
Monday, April 3Executive Ticket Open Forum - This event is cancelled as there are no registered Executive Ticket Candidates this year (Updated 3.31.23)
Monday, April 10 - Friday, April 14Elections Week
Friday April 14Final Revenue & Expense Forms due by 5pm (due each Friday throughout your campaign)
Monday April 17Elections are certified and winners announced after 5pm as long as all incident reports are closed.  Winners are announced on this webpage.
Friday, April 21Newly elected SGA Members sworn in at the 1pm SGA Meeting in 640 Tivoli Student Union
Friday, April 282023-2024 SGA All Member Orientation, 3-5pm in 640 Tivoli Student Union

Resources for Candidates:

Elections Resources:

1. Elections Letter to Candidate 2023

2. Officer Responsibilities & Duties (2023-2024)

3. Election Code - Spring 2023

4. SGA Constitution (Current)

Candidate Forms: 

  1. Candidate Registration Form (Eligibility Check)
  2. Campaign Team Registration Form
  3. Campaign Team - Individual Member Registration
  4. Candidate Expense and Revenue Tracking(Weekly Form)
  5. Campaign Incident Report Form

Campus Posting Regulations:

    1. AHEC Posting Policies
    2. CU Denver Posting Policies
    3. CU Denver Housing & Dining Posting Policies (Page 28)

    Campus Tabling:

      1. Tabling Requests in Residence Halls
      2. AHEC Request System to Table/Reserve Rooms in Tri-Institutional Buildings
      3. CU Denver Request System to Table / Reserve Rooms




      Ballot Box