Skip to main content
Sign In

College of Architecture and Planning University of Colorado Denver

College of Architecture & Planning
 

PLANNING AND DESIGN FACULTY

College of Architecture + Planning


Untitled Document

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty and Instructors




Carrie Makarewicz​

Assistant Pr​ofessor
303.315.1008
carrie.makarewicz@ucdenver.edu
Community development, sustainable economic development strategies, transport equity, regional planning, urban school reform​
Courses: Regional Planning and Policy


Carolyn McAndrews​

Assistant Professor
303.315.0028
carolyn.mcandrews@​ucdenver.edu
Public health, safety and environmental considerations in transportation and land use decision-making, planning and design
Courses: Planning Issues and Processes, Transportation Planning and Policy, Transportation and Land Use​



Jeremy Németh​

Associate Professor, Chair,
and Co-Director, M.U.D. Program​
303.315.0069
jeremy.nemeth@ucdenver.edu
Urban design, public space, urban politics, land use planning
Courses: City Building, City Design Policy, Planning Methods, Planning Studio II, Urban Form Theory, Urban Design Studio​​​



Andrew Rumbach​

Assistant Professor 303.315.1007 andrew.rumbach@ucdenver.edu
Disasters and climate change, environmental risk, urban resilience, international planning, small town and rural development
Courses: Planning in the Developing World



Ken Schroeppel​

Instructor
303.315.1000
ken.schroeppel@ucdenver.edu
Urbanism, urban infill development, professional engagement, downtowns, Denver urban history
Courses: Planning Studio II, Planning Methods, Urban Spatial Analysis



Jennifer Steffel Johnson

Instructor and Associate Chair
303.315.0061
jennifer.steffeljohnson@ucdenver.edu
Affordable housing, social justice, low-income housing, mixed-income housing, community development
Courses: Urban Housing, Community Development, Social Justice in Planning



Austin Troy​

Associate Professor
303.315.1006
austin.troy@ucdenver.edu
Land use policy, environmental planning, GIS, spatial analysis, remote sensing, land use change modeling and simulation
Courses: Environmental Management
​​

Affiliate Faculty

Wes Marshall

Wes Marshall​

Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Science
wesley.marshall@ucdenver.edu
Focus: Road safety, active transportation, transit-oriented communities, parking, and street networks
Gregory Simon

Gregory Simon​

Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
gregory.simon@ucdenver.edu
Focus: Environmental policy/history, sustainable communities, urban ecology, vulnerability studies

Part-Time Faculty

Gil McNeish photo

Gilbert F. McNeish

Professor Adjunct gmcneish@spencerfane.com
Course: Planning Law



Korkut Onaran

Assistant Professor Adjunct
303.443.7876
korkut@pel-ona.com
Land use planning, environmental planning, methodology of planning and design, environment and behavior studies, growth management, sociology of law, historic preservation, legal aesthetics
Courses: Planning Studio II, City Design Policy, Planning and Urban Design Studio in Turkey



Peter Park

Associate Professor Adjunct
303.315.1000
park-cu@comcast.net
Courses: Planning Studio II, Urban Design Studio, Planning Issues and Processes, Design Policy and Regulation
Tom Ragonetti photo

Tom Ragonetti

Professor Adjunct
303.575.7509
tjr@ottenjohnson.com
Land use law, real estate development, government regulation, public finance for private development, annexation, urban development, zoning, eminent domain
Course
: Land Use Controls and Planning

Lecturers

​​​

​​Gretchen Armijo​

gretchen.armijo@ucdenver.edu
Sustainable community design, health and the built environment
Course: Planning Studio II
 ​​


Jeff Bartosik

720.308.3776 jeffbartosik@gmail.com
Sustainable urban design, transit-oriented development, contemporary architectural design
Course: Planning Studio I

Dale Case

303.807.2854
dalecase@msn.com​
Long-range planning, development review, land use decisions
Course: Comprehensive Planning



​​​Don Elliott

303.830.2890 x26 delliott@clarionassociates.com
Land planning and zoning, growth management, and international land and urban development issues
Course: Urbanization in Developing Countries​

Bob Finch

bob.finch@ucdenver.edu
Natural resource planning, land management, park/open space planning, trail planning, weed management, ecological restoration, and volunteer management
Course: Natural Resource Management and Planning

Jay Garcia

303.947.4876
jgarcia@g3planningllc.com

Sustainable development, master planning, real estate development, project management
Courses: Planning Research Methods, Planning Studio

Mike Hinke​

michael.hinke@ucdenver.edu
Course: Geographic Information Systems for Planners



Kenneth Hoagland

303.832.5264
ken@commcapcorp.net
Real estate development, housing development
Course
: Real Estate Development Finance

Anna Jones

​303.628.5558
anna@pumaworldhq.com
Community development, downtown planning, business improvement districts, community outreach, group facilitation, plan development, public policy
Course: Urban Economic Development

James Lindberg

303.722.3306 (h) 303.653.3465 (m) james.b.lindberg@ucdenver.edu
Historic preservation, Main Street revitalization programs, form-based zoning codes, building reuse
Course: Preservation Theory and Practice



Kevin Puccio

303.725.5886
kjpuccio@gmail.com
Community development, land use planning, plan making and process, land development of sustainable communities, green building, energy efficiency in planning and building, GIS, planning design, new urbanism, transit-oriented development, planning regulation
Course: Planning Studio I

Karen Roof

Graduate Instructor
202.285.6061
Karen.Roof@ucdenver.edu

Health impact assessments (HIA), health and the built environment
Course
: Planning for Healthy Communities: A Public Health and Urban Planning Approach

Brad Segal

303.628.5554
brad@pumaworldhq.com
Downtown management, community development, economic development, downtown trends and issues, strategic planning, creating business improvement districts
Course: Urban Economic Development​



Skip Spensley​

jwspensley@gmail.com
Course: Environmental Planning II: Policy Law



Dan Strammiello​

dan@westbrookdevpartners.com
Course: Real Estate Development Process
University of Colorado Denver

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.