Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Nightingale Recognition and Awards - Excellence in Care Recognition

The Nightingale Awards were founded in 1985 to recognize excellence in human caring by Colorado registered nurses.  The Colorado Regional AHEC Centers recognize the excellence in care provided by nurse practitioners in Colorado.  Friends, family, employers, and supporters attend the annual awards ceremonies.

The awards honor the philosophy and spirit of Florence Nightingale, who stated, "Nursing is an art and if it is to be made an art, it requires as exclusive a devotion, as hard a preparation as any painter’s or sculptor’s work; for what is the having to do with dead canvas or cold marble, compared with having to do with the living body—the temple of God’s Spirit? It is one of the Fine Arts; I had almost said, the finest of the Fine Arts."

How do I get involved?

Please Contact: 

Centennial Colorado AHEC​: 970-330-3608 

Southeastern Colorado AHEC: 719-544-7833

San Luis Valley Colorado AHEC: 719-589-4977

Southwestern Colorado AHEC​: 970-426-4284

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.