Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Philosophy Logo
UCD Philosophy Department Group Photo 31 August 2012
 

Philosophy Department Faculty & Staff

Pictured, left to right: Chad Kautzer, Brian Lisle, Sarah Tyson, Candice Shelby, Mark Tanzer, Sam Walker, Gabe Zamosc-Regueros, David Hildebrand, Rob Metcalf


Full-Time Faculty

Mark B. Tanzer, Professor

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook
Office: Plaza M108-F
Phone: 303-556-6373
E-mail: mark.tanzer@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Phenomenology, History of Philosophy, Heidegger, Continental Philosophy.

 


Robert D. Metcalf, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Penn State University
Office: Plaza M108-H
Phone: 303-556-6187
E-mail: robert.metcalf@ucdenver.edu 
Areas of Emphasis: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, History of Philosophy.
 

Candice S. Shelby, Associate Professor, Director for Center for Ethics & Community
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: Plaza M108-E
Phone: 303-556-3223
E-mail: candice.shelby@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Philosophy of Mind, History of Philosophy, Early Modern Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Metaphysics, Ethics, and Epistemology.
 

David L. Hildebrand, Associate Professor, Philosophy Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin
Office: Plaza M108-J
Phone: 303-556-8558
Website: http://www.davidhildebrand.org

E-mail: david.hildebrand@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: American Philosophy, Pragmatism & Neopragmatism, Epistemology, Metaphysics.

Academia.edu: Profile information, papers, presentations, etc.


Gabriel Zamosc-Regueros, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Office: Plaza M108-L
Phone: 303-556-6027
E-mail: gabriel.zamosc@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis
: Ethics, Nietzsche.
 

Chad Kautzer, Assistant Professor, Director for Social Justice Minor
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Office: Plaza M108-G
Phone: 303-556-6275
E-mail: chad.kautzer@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Critical Theory, Race and Feminist Theory, Social Justice Studies, Philosophy of Economics, History of Modern Philosophy.


Sarah K. Tyson, Assistant Professor, affiliated with Women's and Gender Studies Program
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Office: Plaza M108-N
Phone: 303-556-5661
E-mail: sarah.k.tyson@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Feminist Theory, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy.
 

Samuel F. Walker, Senior Instructor and Undergraduate Student Advisor
Ph.D., University of Colorado-Boulder
Office: Plaza M108-M
Phone: 303-556-3240
E-mail: sam.walker@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: History of Philosophy, Continental Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Ethics.


W. Darryl Mehring, Senior Instructor
Ph.D., University of Colorado-Boulder
Office: Plaza M108-K
Phone: 303-556-8546
E-mail: darryl.mehring@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: History of Philosophy (especially Greek and Modern), Hume, Spinoza, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Consciousness.
 

Brian Lisle, Instructor
Ph.D., Loyola University Chicago
Office: Plaza M108-M
Phone: 303-556-4868
E-mail: brian.lisle@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Phenomenology, Existentialism.

 


Sharon L. Coggan, Associate Professor-Clinical Teaching Track, Director of Religious Studies Minor
M.T.S. (Master of Theological Studies), Harvard; M.A. Religious Studies, Stanford University; Ph.D. Religious Studies, Syracuse University
Office: Plaza M108-K
Phone: 303-556-4715
E-mail: sharon.coggan@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Philosophy of Religion, Eastern Philosophy.
 

Lecturers

Mark Bauer, ​Research Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: Contact by e-mail
E-mail: mark.bauer@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Biology, and Logic.

 


David Alexander Craig, Philosophy Lecturer
M.A., University of Oregon
Office: ONLINE
Phone: Contact by e-mail
E-mail: david.craig@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis:

 


Barbara Goodrich, Philosophy Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
Office: ONLINE
Phone: Contact by e-mail
E-mail: barbara.goodrich@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis:
 

Brett Hackett, Philosophy Lecturer
M.A., University of Colorado, Boulder
Office: ONLINE
Phone: Contact by e-mail
E-mail: brett.hackett@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis:
 

George Don Maloney, Religious Studies Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Strasbourg, France
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: 303-556-4842
E-mail: george.maloney@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Eastern/Western Religions, Psychology and Religion, Ethics, Business Ethics, Continental Philosophy.
 

Donna Reeves, Philosophy Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: 303-556-4842
E-mail: reevesdm@colorado.edu
Areas of Emphasis:
 

Celeste Rossmiller, Religious Studies Lecturer
Ph.D., Iliff School of Theology
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: 303-556-4842
E-mail: celeste.rossmiller@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis:
 

Maria Talero, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Board Member for Sustainability Minor
Ph.D., Penn State University
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: 303-556-4842
E-mail: maria.talero@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Environmental Philosophy and Ethics.
 

Zach Walter, Philosophy Lecturer, CU Succeed Liaison
M.A., The New School
Office: Plaza M108-D
Phone: 303-556-4842
E-mail: zachary.walter@ucdenver.edu
Areas of Emphasis: Ancient and Continental Philosophy.
 

Department Staff

Maria Rase, Department Assistant
Office: Plaza M108-C
Phone: 303-556-4868
E-mail: maria.rase@ucdenver.edu


Rachel Shanahan, Graduate Assistant
Office: Plaza M108-C-1/2
​Phone: 303-556-4868
E-mail: rachel.shanahan@ucdenver.edu


  A link to FCQs (Faculty Course Questionnaire​) is located here.