Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Communication Logo

Communication Days

Communication Days

Network. Learn. Contribute.   

The Department of Communication, in partnership with the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, is pleased to present this year’s Communication Days celebration. During the week of March 29-April 8, Denver’s leading communicators visit our classrooms, bringing a real-world dimension to every course. Students are encouraged to attend numerous presentations to network with potential employers, learn communication skills, and contribute to developing the Department’s community.    

Communication Days 2016 Program

2016 Keynote Presentation and Awards Ceremony
Dr. Helene Shugart
Professor, University of Utah

Fighting Weight: Narratives of Obesity as Resistance

Tuesday, April 5th, 12:30 to 1:45PM
Student Commons Building Room 2500

2016 Award Winners 

Barbara J. Walkosz Alumni Award
Shontel Lewis
Lynne D. Valencia

Sonja K. Foss Award for Academic Excellence
Carly Leilani Fabian

Lael Porter Award for Community Service
Yinglun (Tom) Wang

Robley Rhine Student Leadership Award
Haoxiang (Edward) Liu

Past Communication Days keynote speakers include: 

  • 2015: Phaedra C. Pezzullo, Associate Professor of Rhetoric & Public Culture, Department of Communication & Culture, Indiana University
  • 2014: Charles E. Morris III, Professor, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Communication, Syracuse University
  • 2013: Aimee Carrillo-Rowe, Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, California State University - Northridge
  • 2012: Kirt Wilson, Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Political Communication, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2011: Robbie Cox, three-time Sierra Club president, Professor Emeritus, University of North Carolina
  • 2010: Judith Tannenbaum, nationally recognized novelist and poet, community activist, and prison educator
  • 2009: Garrett Albert Duncan, Chair, Department of Education, Washington University
  • 2008: Tim Z. Hernandez, writer and performance artist
  • 2007: Bill Hanzlik, CEO, Gold Crown Foundation; former coach, Denver Nuggets; former NBA basketball player
  • 2006: Jeff Campbell, Executive Director, Colorado Hip-Hop Coalition
  • 2005: John Hickenlooper, Mayor, City of Denver
  • 2004: Patricia Calhoun, Editor, Westword
  • 2003: Denver Mayoral Forum (included all of the candidates running for mayor: Susan Casey, John Hickenlooper, Don Mares, Phil Perington, Elizabeth Schlosser, Jeremy Stefanek, Penfield Tate, and Ari Zavaras)
  • 2002: Guy Burgess, Director, The Conflict Research Consortium, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • 2001: Patricia Arneson, Professor, Communication Department, Duquesne University​