Skip to main content
Sign In

Center for Oral Disease Prevention and Population Health Research


​The Center for Oral Disease Prevention and Population Health Research (COPPR) supports collaborative interprofessional education, research and clinical programs to improve oral health for vulnerable populations. 

COPPR brings together nationally recognized experts in prevention, wellness and population health research, which includes faculty from the University of Colorado Schools of Dental Medicine and Medicine on the Anschutz Campus, the Colorado School of Public Health, the University of Colorado Denver School of Public Affairs and other US universities.

This collaboration is the first of its kind in the nation and COPPR’s efforts are consistent with the goals and objectives of the CU School of Dental Medicine’s interprofessional education and health & wellness initiatives to support new and innovative strategies across health disciplines on campus. Pre-doctoral dental students have very little exposure to public health principles, pediatric oral health interventions and working interprofessionally to improve patient health outcomes. COPPR serves as the focus point for this increase in exposure for students, and informs dental and other health care provider communities across the nation regarding evidence-based strategies for the prevention of oral disease.



  • ​Increase oral disease prevention education in each year of pre-doctoral education and other professional education programs
  • Support faculty with rationale and effectiveness of population-based and individual prevention strategies
  • Demonstrate to the community at-large the expertise of the School of Dental Medicine in prevention research and service to the community
  • Provide technical assistance at the local, state, and national level in incorporating prevention, pediatric, and public health curriculum into professional health education.  
Org Chart 2.png

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.