Skip to main content
Sign In

Graduate Periodontics Program

The Postgraduate Periodontics Program begins July 1st of each year and is of 36 months duration. Upon successful completion of the program the resident is awarded a Certificate in Periodontics and is eligible to take the American Board of Periodontology examination. A Master of Science in Dentistry degree is a requirement of the program, and residents are prepared to defend a Master’s Thesis.

The program is planned to be multifaceted and to utilize the extensive facilities and outstanding personnel of the University of Colorado to provide:

  • A strong foundation in the basic sciences, including surgical anatomy, cell biology, biochemistry, immunology, research methodology, and others.
  • Clinical science courses that include occlusion, oral medicine, oral pathology, dental implantology, interdisciplinary treatment planning, and others.
  • An extensive review of the periodontal literature to provide the basis for understanding current philosophies of therapy and to establish a scientific basis for formulating comprehensive treatment plans.
  • Exposure to a wide range of periodontal diagnoses requiring a variety of therapeutic procedures. Residents are encouraged to utilize a variety of materials and clinical techniques as long as there is evidenced-based research to support their clinical decision-making.
  • Research opportunities in either basic science or clinical areas to enable the resident to accomplish a meaningful original research project.
  • Some experience in a hospital environment at University Hospital on the Anschutz Medical Campus, to support conscious sedation training.
  • Teaching experience in both the classroom and clinic to communicate those principles and skills acquired during training.                                                                                                                    

How to Apply


Goals and Objectives




Contact Information​


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.