Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

CU Orthopaedics Nationally Selected as Host of 2013 AOA-AOSSM International Traveling Fellows

University of Colorado Department of Orthopaedics

​AURORA, Colorado – July 10, 2013 - The University of Colorado’s Department of Orthopaedics was selected as an American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) host leadership organization for the 2013 Traveling Fellowships by the Japanese Orthopaedic Association (JOA) and the Austrian-Swiss-German (ASG) Traveling Fellowship. Additionally, the European Society for Sports Traumatology, Knee Surgery and Arthroscopy (ESSKA), partnered with the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) to select the University of Colorado’s Department of Orthopaedics as one of only a select few stops on their Traveling Fellowship itinerary.

International Traveling Fellowships occur in the United States at selected Universities for a three to four week period every other summer with the tour typically kicking off at the AOA Annual Meeting. The University of Colorado’s Department of Orthopaedics was one of only eleven universities selected nationally to participate in this international exchange program for promising young orthopaedic surgeons.

The purpose of this scientific and cultural exchange is to bring the international Traveling Fellows into contact with the best of their peers from the host country for an exchange of innovative medical and scientific information. The Fellows chosen to represent their respective international associations typically become leaders in their field and the Traveling Fellowship serves as a launching pad for their careers. 

Dr. Robert D’Ambrosia, Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedics, stated, “The cultural and academic exchange of information is invaluable to the careers of our faculty, medical students, residents and fellows. In addition, the networking, collaboration and exchange of ideas that occurs even after the Traveling Fellowship is complete, is vital for broadening the vision of our faculty, residents and students.”

The University of Colorado’s Department of Orthopaedics was humbly honored to host the following 2013 AOA and AOSSM Traveling Fellows.

2013 JOA Traveling Fellows: 
Toshihiro Akisue, MD; Toru Akiyama, MD; Hirotaka Chikuda, MD, PhD; Tekehito Hananouchi, MD; Junichi Nakamura, MD; Yoshihisa Sugimoto, MD

2013 ASG Traveling Fellows:
Ranier G.H. Biedermann, MD (Austria); Andreas C. Niemeir, MD (Germany); Fabian von Knoch, MD (Switzerland); Tobias F. Renkawitz, MD (Germany)

2013 ESSKA Traveling Fellows:
C. Niek van Dijk, MD (The Netherlands); Nikica Darabos, MD (Zagreb, Croatia); Nicolas Graveleau, MD (Paris, France); Francesca Vannini, MD (Bologna, Italy)

For more information, contact:

University of Colorado Department of Orthopaedics
Anschutz Medical Campus, Academic Office 1
12631 E. 17th Avenue, Mailstop B202, Aurora, CO 80045
Email:  |  Web:  |  Tel: 303.724.1030

*Press release is available HERE in Adobe Acrobat PDF format