Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver


Colorado Integrated Food Safety Center of Excellence

CDC has designated Colorado as one of five Integrated Food Safety Centers of Excellence (CoE) to help fulfill its role in the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). After a competitive process, five state health departments and their affiliated university partners were selected and notified: Colorado, Florida, Minnesota, Oregon, and Tennessee. With CDC's leadership, these Centers will provide technical assistance and training on epidemiological, laboratory, and environmental investigations of foodborne illness outbreaks and associated analyses. Centers will identify and implement best practices in foodborne diseases surveillance and will serve as a resource for public health professionals at state, local, and regional levels. Find out more about the CoE and the FSMA at


​According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) is the most sweeping reform of our food safety laws in more than 70 years, and was signed into law by President Obama on January 4, 2011. This act aims to ensure the U.S. food supply is safe by shifting the focus from responding to contamination to preventing it. Additionally, it gives FDA new and enhanced mandates and authorities to protect consumers and promote public health. For more information regarding the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act watch the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act video below.


 FMSA: A Primer by FDA


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.