Skip to main content
Sign In

Graduate School at University of Colorado Denver

The Graduate School at UC Denver
 

Human Medical Genetics and Genomics Program at UCD|AMC

Graduate Students


Our Human Medical Genetics and Genomics Programand Genomics Ph.D. students are a multi-cultural group of great people who are working hard toward meeting their scholastic and research goals. They are from various international and U.S. universities with diverse backgrounds. If they are in their lab of choice for their thesis work, there is a link to their lab for you to explore on the faculty page. Please feel free to contact any of them if you have questions with the email link provided on this page.

 

Student Email Address Laboratory
Jennifer Benson Jennifer.2.Benson@ucdenver.edu Curt Freed​
Joanne Cole Joanne.Cole@ucdenver.edu Richard A. Spritz
Jessica Cummiskey Jessica.Cummiskey@ucdenver.edu Curt Freed
Mihret Elos Mihret.Elos@ucdenver.edu ​​​​​Jing Wang​
Ken Eyring Kenneth.Eyring@ucdenver.edu David Schwartz
Lynsey Fettig-Anderson
Steve Glidewell Steven.Glidewell@ucdenver.edu Mark Geraci
Katie Grabek Katharine.Grabek@ucdenver.edu Sandy Martin
Britney Helling ​Britney.Helling@ucdenver.edu David Schwartz
Emily Mathews Emily.S.Mathews@ucdenver.edu Bruce Appel
Ashley Montoya
Leila Noetzli Leila.Noetzli@ucdenver.edu Jorge DiPaola
Veronica Searles Veronica.Searles@ucdenver.edu James Sikela
Jonathan Shortt Jonathan.Shortt@ucdenver.edu David Pollock
Mary Sweet
Peter Van Laarhoven Peter.Vanlaarhoven@ucdenver.edu Tamim Shaikh
Leah Venturoni Leah.Venturoni@ucdenver.edu Stephen Goodman
Laura Warg Laura.Warg@ucdenver.edu David Schwartz


Student Learning Objectives for the Human Medical Genetics and Genomics Programand Genomics  Ph.D.

The Ph.D. program in Human Medical Genetics and Genomics Programtrains graduate students to become proficient and successful investigators who are able to:

1.      Demonstrate a basic knowledge of central concepts in the biomedical sciences.

2.      Understand current concepts in human genetics and genomics.

3.      Read and critically evaluate the scientific literature.

4.      Formulate hypotheses based on current concepts in the field and design, conduct, and interpret their own research projects.

5.      Present research results in peer-reviewed publications and in a dissertation.

6.      Communicate research results effectively through oral presentations at scientific seminars, conferences, and other venues.

7.      Write a competitive application for research funding.

8.      Develop ancillary skills, where necessary, to obtain positions outside of scientific research.

University of Colorado Denver

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.