Skip to main content
Sign In

University Accreditation 2011

Accreditaton Overview

Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association

The accreditation of schools and colleges in the U.S. is overseen by several regional accrediting agencies.  Colorado is one of 19 states whose schools and colleges are accredited by the North Central Association (NCA) that consists of two independent accrediting corporations:

1.  The Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (K - 12)

2.  The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) that is responsible for degree granting organizations of higher education.

The HLC has two major programs for maintaining accredited status and UC Denver will be examined under the Program to Evaluate and Advance Quality (PEAQ). 

The PEAQ program has five major criteria each with four-five components.  The five criteria are:

1.  Mission and Integrity

2.  Preparing for the Future

3.  Student Learning and Effective Teaching

4.  Acquisition, Discovery, and Application of Knowledge

5.  Engagement and Service

In addition, the commission suggests interweaving themes that tell the story of the university throughout the five criteria.  The University Planning and Accrediting Committee approved the following four themes:

1. Emergent

2. Learning Driven

3. Collaborative

4. Responsible.

Download the Handbook of Accreditation from the NCA/HLC website

Accreditation and State Regulatory Authorization for Online Education

Please view our document on State authorization for Online Education as well as the complaint process by state.​​​

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.