Skip to main content
Sign In

Alpha Omega Alpha

Students and faculty attended the Annual Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society Banquet in May 2017 at the University Club. Left to right: Thomas Wong (Incoming AOA Vice President); Ruth Wang (Incoming AOA President); Mel Anderson, MD (Keynote Speaker), James Beck, MD (AOA Councilor), Nikki Look (AOA Vice President), Alyssa Self (AOA President), Richard Byyny, MD (Executive Director of AOA).

Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the National Honor Medical Society, was organized in 1902 by students at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Chicago for medical students who have excelled academically and have shown promise of beco
ming leaders in the profession.

By the AOA constitution, the top 25 percent of each class is eligible for consideration, but only about two-thirds of these students, or one-sixth of the class, may be elected to membership. Scholastic achievement must be balanced by other personal qualities such as leadership, fairness, compassion, integrity and service.

Junior AOA is selected in the spring of the students' junior year. Honors points from the first and second year of medical school are considered. Senior AO

A is selected in August/September of senior year, and honors points from the first, second and third year of medical school are considered. To be considered for AOA, students must sign a release before junior selection and submit a CV. 

The 2017 elected members include:

  • Sarah Axelrath
  • Alyssa Blood
  • Van Chau
  • James Engeln
  • Samuel Gordon
  • Daniel Hecht
  • Margaret Heerwagen
  • Torbjorg Holtestaul
  • Gregory Ingolia
  • Nicole Look
  • Mia McNulty
  • Tyler Okland
  • Soliman Oushy
  • Alida Ovrutsky
  • Arcadia Paine
  • Austin Park
  • Maithri Sarangam
  • Veronica Searles Quick
  • Alyssa Self
  • Vera Staley
  • Ericson Stoen
  • Whitney Sumner
  • Alec Sundet
  • Kenji Tanabe
  • Thad Vickery

2018 Students:

  • Kimberly Cabral 
  • Greg Fliney
  • Derek Nhan
  • Blake Snyder
  • Ruth Wang
  • Thomas Wong 


  • Elias Hernandez (Family Medicine)
  • Frank Scott (Orthopedic Surgery)
  • Leonard (Barry) Seltz (Pediatrics)
  • Eric Young (Medicine)

House Officers:

  • Julia Coleman (Surgery)
  • Jenna Cook (Psychiatry)
  • Scott Matson (Medicine)
  • Lindy Vanlandingham (OB/GYN)