Skip to main content
Sign In

Red Cloud College

Brian Lancaster

I am a native of Colorado, born in Denver, raised in Broomfield. I am the oldest child from a family of six and the only one of four siblings never to leave Colorado for an extended amount of time. My siblings live in California, Oregon, and Montana. I completed two degrees at Colorado State University, a biological sciences B.S. and a biomedical sciences M.S. Between grad school and med school I worked on the Anschutz Medical Campus for nearly three years, first as a research assistant in Hepatology and Liver Transplant, then as a research coordinator in Cutaneous Oncology. I have decided to pursue orthopedics as a career, which has been my primary medical/surgical interest since high school.  Outside of medical school I enjoy doing anything active, especially the very stereotypically Colorado-type things like hiking, biking, and playing with my six year-old German Shepherd. I recently moved back to my homeland of Broomfield with my fiancée to be closer to outdoor activities. A few interesting facts about me: I am half Canadian, as my dad is a Canadian citizen, and I will one day pursue half citizenship to make it official. For now I drink Molson. I am co-founder and participant of the first annual 14er Formal. I don’t ski or snowboard.

Marie McKinnon

Waterloo, Indiana
Undergrad: Rice University
Intended Specialty: Neurosurgery
Activities/hobbies/other info:
Hey team! I'm really excited about being an advisor this year, so please don't hesitate to get in touch with me with any questions that come up as we all navigate our way through this crazy adventure called medical school. But if you want to forget that you're in medical school altogether and talk about life or do other normal adventures, let's do that too! Here are some of the things I love in life: running, biking, reading non-medical books, painting/sculpture/art, sunburns (don't tell the dermatologists!), movies, cornhole/lawn games, Denver breweries, and yoga.

Lucas Salg

Lucas is originally from Madison, WI, but has lived in Colorado since 1985. He completed his Bachelor of Arts in English at University of Colorado Denver in 2004, and held down a day job as an editor while playing drums for various bands, before making the totally obvious decision to attend medical school. He plans to pursue a residency in Psychiatry. When not obsessively doing QBank questions or chasing after his two boys, Lucas enjoys ruining his eardrums with abrasive music at unsafe volumes, playing guitar, drinking bizarre liqueurs that no one else likes, and reading (favorites: Murakami, JG Ballard, DeLillo). 

Talia Sorrentino

Originally, I am from Kansas where I spent my childhood riding go-carts and dirt bikes. Growing up, I even had a pet snapping turtle that lived under our family’s apple tree. However, I’ve called Colorado “home” I was ten. I still get outside as often as possible and enjoy mountain biking, rock climbing and skiing whenever I can. For undergrad, I attended CU Boulder where I played club soccer, and studied biology and neuroscience. Prior to medical school, I worked as an EMT at Denver Health in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit, or “knife and gun club,” which is where I first became interested in trauma and surgery. After my first year of medical school, I traveled to Cape Town, South Africa, where I gained clinical experience caring for patients in the emergency unit of a large trauma center. Recently, I became an aunt, which has afforded me an excuse to pick up knitting as another hobby, and practice my skills making a variety of hats and knitted stuffed monsters.

Hometown: Stillwell, KS
Undergrad: University of Colorado, Boulder
Intended Specialty: General Surgery
Activities/hobbies: mountain biking, soccer, rock climbing, knitting

Scott De La Cruz
Katie Morrison 

    Comming Soon

Daine Bennett

​I completed medical school at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in 2006 and am currently a general surgery resident at UCD. I am currently taking two years out of the clinical realm to do basic science research with a metastasis model of lung cancer cells. I'm also obtaining a Masters in Clinical Science during this time. I enjoy skiing, hiking and traveling when I can.

Austin Butterfield Specialty: Psychiatry
Year: PGY 3
Medical School: University of Colorado
​Stephanie Gold

I'm currently a second year family medicine resident. I grew up in Olney, MD, and went to Tufts for undergrad, where I majored in Spanish, and University of Virginia for medical school. Within medicine, I’m particularly interested in public health and policy, models for behavior change and chronic disease management, and care for the underserved. Outside of medicine, I enjoy running, hiking, yoga, playing squash, reading, and dominating at word games. After residency, I'm planning on doing a fellowship to get an MPH and ultimately doing a mix of public health and clinical work in an underserved setting. If you have any questions at all please feel free to email me!

Vineel Kankanala I grew up in Hobbs, New Mexico. Eager to leave, I went to Northwestern’s 7 year BA/MD program. Highlights include: studying abroad for a year, not majoring in anything, and not taking the MCATs. Tired of Chicago winters and eager to return to my native Southwest, I chose to come to UC Denver. I am currently applying for GI fellowship, and am applying across the country.  As a resident, I’ve had less time to indulge my hobbies, but I am definitely still able to have fun. My most notable non-medical pursuits:
- Getting swole at the gym
- Losing that swoleness as I sit on the couch and play Halo.
- Reading books that aren’t medical-related but still make me feel like an intellectual.
- Balancing my enjoyment of outdoorsy activities with my love of sitting down indoors.
​Sarah Milliken-Glabe
Specialty: Anesthesiology
Year: PGY 6
Medical School: University of Colorado
Hayley Ross Specialty: Pediatrics
Year: PGY 2
Medical School: University of Colorado
Cory Siebe
Specialty: Emergency Medicine
Year: PGY 2
Medical School:
Medical College of Wisconsin
​Julie Knoeckel
Julie Knoeckel.jpg

My name is Julie Knoeckel, and I’m a proud resident advisor and former student advisor for Red Cloud College.  I am a Colorado native and graduated from University of Colorado Medical School and am now an intern in the Internal Medicine residency program at CU. I’m not quite sure what my future career plans include, but a career as an academic hospitalist versus specializing in rheumatology are in the running. I spend my time out of the hospital with my husband, Chris running, hiking and skiing. I’m more than happy to meet up with medical students to talk about a myriad of topics- anything from boards preparation to the transition to internship. Feel free to send me an e-mail!
Jenna Sopfe

Hi, my name is Jenna and I'm a second year Pediatrics resident. I graduated from Vanderbilt Medical School. I have an interest in Hematology/Oncology, long-term outcomes, and medical education. Outside of academics, I enjoy skiing, snowboarding, hiking, yoga, microbreweries, and UCLA athletics!
Padade Vue
​I went to Brown University for undergrad then Tufts University School of Medicine. I completed a Pediatrics residency at the University of Colorado and I'm currently here for a fellowship in Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition (3rd year fellow). I'm interested in parenteral nutrition, cultural competency/awareness, improving patient care through patient education. Outside of the medical realm, I'm a student advisor for UC-D/CU Boulder undergraduate Hmong Student Association of Colorado. I also enjoy increasing diversity on campus and balancing work/life as a new mother during fellowship. I'm a Denver native and accepted a job in Alaska next year!

Kelsey Watt
I grew up in Minnesota and attended St. Olaf College in Northfield, MN for undergrad where I majored in biology and philosophy.  I went to the University of Minnesota for medical school, and I'm currently a 3rd year pediatric resident going into primary care.  I would love to stay and work in Colorado after residency because of the beautiful outdoors, wonderful weather and so many fun things to do outside like hiking, skiing, biking, running etc!