Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Acting-Internships

Phase IV


Acting-Internships Overvi​ew

Acting-Internship (AI) courses are designed to prepare students for their internships. All medical students are required to complete a minimum of one acting-internship course. There are twenty-seven courses that meet the minimum requirements of an acting-internship.​

  1. The clerkship must be at the 8000 level and a minimum of 4 weeks in duration with at least 70% of the time devoted to hospitalized patients.
  2. Rotation must allow students to take primary responsibility for patients at the level of an early year intern in that specialty including:
      • Completing initial assessment of patients
      • Writing orders and notes
      • Direct participation in calls from  nurses
      • Developing initial plans
      • Providing sign out
      • Direct involvement in cross coverage – answering questions and writing orders for patients that are not their primary patients
      • Direct reporting to faculty or senior resident
      • Participate in night float or overnight call for a minimum of 4 shifts/nights

  3. ​​The student must take primary call similar to the intern on the team. The following courses that meet the minimum requirements for Acting-Internships.

 

Student Academic Responsibil​ities

In addition to their clinical duties, all medical students enrolled in an acting-internship will be required to complete the following:
  • Oasis Course Evaluations
  • Oasis Faculty Evaluations
  • Oasis Resident Evaluations
  • Oasis Course Career Development Data
  • Completion of a standardized Mid-Point Feedback Form
  • One Quality Improvement project
  • One Advanced Communications project

Additional information regarding these responsibilities may be found in the course syllabus or by contacting the Acting-Internship Course Director.
    

Available Acting-Internships​​

These Acting-Internship courses meet the University of Colorado School of Medicine requirement for graduation.

Course #​

​​Course Title

Course Director

ANES 8001

Surgery Intensive Care AI

Fareed Azam, MD (Fareedul.Azam@cuanschutz.edu)

FMMD 8002

Fam Med Univ Hosp AI

Jessica Devitt, MD
(Jessica.Devitt@cuanschutz.edu)

FMMD 8017

Northern CO Fam Med/OB AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8018

St. Joseph-Bruner FMC AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8019

St Anthony Nth Fam Med AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8020

St. Mary's Family Med AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8021

Southern CO Family Med AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD8022

Swedish Family Medicine AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8023

Fort Collins Family Med AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8024

NCFM – Wray Med/Ob AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

FMMD 8025

NCFM – Sterling Med/OB AI

Kari Mader, MD
(kari.mader@cuanscutz.edu)

MEDS 8001

Medicine AI

Adam Trosterman, MD (Adam.Trosterman@cuanschutz.edu)

MEDS 8002

​​Hospital Medicine AI

Christopher King, MD (Christopher.King@cuanschutz.edu)

MEDS 8034

Critical Care St Joseph's AI

Elizabeth Cyran, MD
(Elizabeth.Cyran@sclhs.net)

MEDS 8037

Medical ICU - UCH AI

Ellen Burnham, MD (Ellen.Burnham@cuanschutz.edu)

OBGY 8000

General Obstetrics AI

Nicki Nguyen, MD
(Nicki.Nguyen@dhha.org)

​​OBGY 8001

General Gynecology AI

Nicki Nguyen, MD
(Nicki.Nguyen@dhha.org)

​​OBGY 8004

High Risk Maternal/Fet AI

Allison Faucett, MD (Allison.Faucett@cuanschutz.edu)

OBGY 8005

Gynecologic Oncology AI

Jaime Arruda, MD
(Jaime.Arruda@cuanschutz.edu)

​​OBGY 8012

UH Gynecology AI

Shawna Tonick, MD (shawna.tonick@cuanschutz.edu)

​ORTH 8000 ​Orthopaedic Surgery ​Frank Scott (frank.scott@cuanschutz.edu​)

PEDS 8000

Pediatric AI

Jennifer Soep, MD (Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org)

PEDS 8015

Pediatric Neonatology AI

Danielle Smith, MD 
(
Danielle.Smith@childrenscolorado.org)
Jennifer Soep, MD 
(Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org)

PEDS 8027

Pediatric ICU AI

Angela Czaja, MD (Angela.Czaja@childrenscolorado.org)
Jennifer Soep, MD 
(Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org)

SURG 8000

Gen Surg Univ AI

Paul Montero, MD (Paul.Montero@cuanschutz.edu)

SURG 8001

Gen Surg DHMC AI

Ryan Lawless, MD
(Ryan.Lawless@dhha.org)

SURG 8002

Gen Surg St Joseph's AI

Emily Speer, MD
(
Emily.Speer@sclhealth.org)

SURG 8021

Surgical Critical Care AI

Jamie Coleman, MD
(
Jamie.Coleman@dhha.org)​