Skip to main content
Sign In

Strategic Infrastructure for Research Committee

School of Medicine Research Development

The Strategic Infrastructure for Research Committee (SIRC), created in 2003, reviews proposals to fund research infrastructure that can be available as a core facility or program to all appropriate users on campus. One of the major benefits of the SIRC process is critical peer review and the return of constructive comments that have strengthened the quality and productivity of the School of Medicine's research and have improved the cost-effectiveness of the Dean's Academic Enrichment Fund (AEF). Applications for ongoing cores must include a plan for sustainability. This committee is advisory to the Dean. SIRC applications are solicited quarterly. Through the June 2015 review the SIRC process has made 73 awards totaling $13.8 million in Dean’s funds, and 6 additional 2-to-5-year awards to projects from the 2009 research retreat totaling $7.3 million. SIRC-approved research infrastructure includes: 

  • Core facilities in high-throughput genomics and metabolomics, biomedical informatics, advanced light microscopy, tissue banking, small-animal imaging, mouse behavior, and the Clinical-Translational Research Imaging Core.
  • Core programs granting an MS or PhD in medical science for medical & graduate students and faculty, year-long mentorship in outcomes research, biostatistics support, patient databases in pregnancy & developmental disabilities, and a biorepository. 
  • In FY ’14-’15 a total $1.07M was allocated for 9 awards, including support for a CyTOF mass cytometer, equipment for a large animal cardiovascular catheterization lab, development of a gnotobiotic mouse facility, infrastructure for the Global Health Research Initiative in Guatemala, and an automated solid-phase, bio-organic peptide synthesizer.

Strategic Infrastructure for Research Committee

Members 2017-2018*

Paul Jedlicka, Pathology Chair ('18)

Jeffrey Bennett, Neurology ('19)

Glenn Furuta, Pediatrics/GI ('18)

Craig Jordan, Hematology ('19)

Anne Libby, Emergency Medicine ('19)

Mark Petrash, Ophthalmology ('19)

Tamim Shaikh, Pediatrics/Genetics ('18)

Lori Sussel, Barbara Davis Center

Karyn Goodman, Radiation Oncology

Peter Buttrick, Medicine/Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

* Year to rotate off in July in parentheses