Skip to main content
Sign In

Research Advisory Committee

School of Medicine

The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) was established by the Research Strategic Plan of 2003 as a way to advise the Dean of the School of Medicine on matters related to research, and it now also advises the Vice Chancellor for Research. The committee meets monthly.
RAC has recommended in the past that a center for stem-cell biology and regenerative medicine should be established and that a campus child-care facility should be constructed as a means of retaining research faculty—and as the right thing to do.
The RAC selected the six proposals to be presented at the research retreat of 2009, collated faculty reviews and prioritization submitted at the conclusion of the retreat, which was an important basis for funding decisions, and critiqued the budgets submitted by the retreat–proposed programs.
Over this past year the RAC recommended that consideration of the proposal to reorganize the basic science departments should proceed with high priority, and the committee constructed
and obtained outside input on a list of research priorities to inform the Dean, deanship candidates, and the new Dean.

Research Advisory Committee

Tim Benke, MD, PhD – Committee Chair

Bruce Appel, PhD

Mair Churchill, PhD

Greg Everson, MD

Kate Horwitz, PhD

Mark Johnston, PhD

Jim McManaman, PhD

Tom Purcell, MD

Mary Weiser-Evans, PhD

Spero Manson, PhD

Fred Suchy, MD

Richard Traystman, PhD

Richard Johnston, MD