Skip to main content
Sign In

Scholar Application Process

Letters of Intent were Due 7/31


NIH Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH) K12 Scholar Training Program 

The University of Colorado Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH) program (K12 HD057022) is an internal K12 grant mechanism funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) that fosters mentored research career development of junior faculty (men and women) who wish to develop independent careers focused on women’s health or sex differences research.  Two years support guaranteed, with 3rd being negotiable.


·      Must attend BIRCWH-related events including BIRCWH Conferences and annual BIRCWH meeting at NIH.

·      Up to $100,000 salary exclusive of fringe (75% salary for MDs, 100% for PhDs)

·      Departments/Divisions must commit to providing salary above the $100,000 limit from BIRCWH if there is a salary gap.

·      Departments/Divisions must also commit to providing $10,000 for project support for the successful candidates for each year of funding awarded (independent of salary gap augmentation).

·      Two BIRCWH positions will be awarded for this cycle.*

·      Must be Assistant Professor (in rank ≤ 6 years).

·      Must be a MD, PhD or DO.

·      Areas of focus for the BIRCWH include:

·         Pregnancy, Lactation and Developmental Programming of Health and Disease

·         Immunology/Precision Medicine/Rheumatology

·         Adult Health: Obesity, Menopause, Aging, Nutrition, Metabolism, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease

*Note that Awards and start dates are pending NIH Notice of Award.




Announcement Date: July 11, 2017


LOI Deadline: July 31, 2017


Application Deadline: August 31, 2017 (by invitation only)


Award Notification: *October 2017


Start Date: *Note that awards and start dates are pending NIH Notice of Award.

Phase I – Request for Letters of Intent (LOI)

Letters of Intent for those interested in the BIRCWH grant are due on July 31, 2017, by 5:00 pm Mountain Time. Selected applicants will be invited by the BIRCWH Leadership to complete a full application.

LOI Submission Guidelines

The LOIs should be no more than two pages in length and include the following:

ü  Scholar name, Rank, Department/Division, School/College

ü  Potential primary mentor and mentoring team, including Rank, Department/Division, School/Dept. of each team member.

ü  Project title & Priority area being addressed by this study.

ü  Draft aims and a draft of significance of research.

ü  Statement of commitment to women’s health and/or sex differences research.

ü  Scholar’s biosketch (not included in page maximum).

ü  List of publications (not included in page maximum).

ü  Submissions should be sent in a combined PDF file to rachel.aerne@ucdenver by 5:00 pm MT on July 31, 2017.


Questions:  Contact Dr. Judy Regensteiner at 303-724-2247 or