Skip to main content
Sign In


Welcome to the MST Program

The Medical Scientist Training Program provides rigorous training for students interested in a career in clinical medicine and basic science research.


The MST Program's mission is to provide students with the breadth and depth of training necessary to excel as clinician scientists.

Colorado has strengths in Molecular and Cellular Biology, Immunology, Epidemiology, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Virology, Neuroscience, Endocrinology, Pharmacology, and Cancer Biology, which provides an exciting spectrum of research opporunities for MSTP students.



​Program Director:                              Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, MD

Associate Director for pre-clinical years: Patricia Ernst, PhD

Associate Director for clinical years:​    Jorge DiPaola, MD

Administrator: Elizabeth Bowen
Administrative Assistant: Katie Bidus

University of Colorado
Medical Scientist Training Program
12631 E. 17th Avenue
Academic Office One (AO1) Room 2601
Mail Stop B176
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: (303) 724-4600
Fax: (303) 724-2920


The 150 core training faculty for the MST Program maintain superior funded research programs.  These faculty have an excellent record in the training of both pre- and post-doctoral fellows.

Our faculty are highly decorated and includes Nobel Prize laureates, members of the National Academy of Sciences, Howard Hughes Medical Investigators and Pew Scholars. 

click here for list of faculty in MST Program 

1983: Dean St. Geme lists MD/PhD training as key priority and recruits Dr. Henry Claman to start the Program
1985: - Dr. Peggy Neville takes over,  culminating in NIGMS MSTP funding in 1992.
1985: CU MD/PhD Program initiates Annual National Student Conference
1994: Program initiates Directors/Administrators Conference.
1994: Dr. Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann takes over the Program
2004: Dr. Angie Ribera is recruited as Co-Director.
2005: New medical curriculum inaugurated in the Fall
2007: MSTP moves to the Anschutz Medical Campus