Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Leadership and Directors


Welcome to the Essentials Core Website. Whether you are a perspective student or a new student in our program, please feel free to contact us with your questions or comments. Our office hours are from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Curriculum staff contact information:

 

Andrew Bradford, PhD 
Assistant Dean of Essentials Core Curriculum

 

 

Dr. Bradford oversees the first two years of the medical school curriculum and chairs the Essentials Core Block Directors Committee. After receiving his PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne in the United Kingdom, he did postdoctoral work at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center and at the University of Colorado health Sciences Center. He joined the faculty of the Department of Obstetric and Gynecology in 1998 and served as Director of the Reproductive Sciences Graduate Program since 2007. His research focuses on reproductive endocrinology and signal transduction pathways in gynecologic tumors. He co-directs the Phase II Life Cycle Block and directs several graduate school courses. ​ 

 

 

 

 

Phase I – Suzanne Waffle
e-mail Suzanne.waffle@ucdenver.edu
phone 303/724-2070
fax 303/724-1629
Phase II – Ellen Valentine
e-mail Ellen.Valentine@ucdenver.edu
phone 303/724-2069
fax 303/724-1629

 

 

 

Block Director email  Phone 

Human Body

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Mike Carry, PhD

Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
Mike.carry@ucdenver.edu

 

303-724-2411

 

CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Steven Britt, MD
Departments of Cell and Developmental Biology & Ophthalmology
Steve.britt@ucdenver.edu 303-724-3441

Molecules to Medicine

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Robert Low, MD, PhD
Department of Pathology
Robert.low@ucdenver.edu 303-724-4307
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Matthew Taylor, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine
Matthew.taylor@ucdenver.edu 303-724-1400

Blood and Lymph

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Jill Slansky, PhD
Department of Immunology
 Jill.slansky@ucdenver.edu 303-398-1887
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Tim Garrington, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Timothy.garrington@childrenscolorado.org 720-777-8365

Disease and Defense

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Ron Gill, PhD
Department of Microbiology
Ron.gill@ucdenver.edu 303-724-4230
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Bruce McCollister, MD
Department of Medicine
Bruce.McCollister@UCDenver.edu 303-724-4216 

Cardiovascular, Pulmonary and Renal Systems

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Rock Levinson, PhD
Department of Physiology and Molecular Biophysics
Rock.levinson@ucdenver.edu 303-724-1544
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Larry Horwitz, MD
Department of Medicine
lawrence.horwitz@ucdenver.edu  303-724-2089 

Nervous System

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Tom French, PhD
Department of Pharmacology
Thomas.french@ucdenver.edu 303-724-3387 
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Steve Ojemann, MD
Department of Neurosurgery
steven.ojemann@ucdenver.edu 303 724-2285

Digestive, Endocrine and Metabolic Systems

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
John Tentler, PhD
Department of Medicine
John.Tentler@ucdenver.edu​ 303-724-3887
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTORS
Dan Bessesen, MD
Department of Medicine
daniel.bessesen@ucdenver.edu  303 266-4361  
Virginia Sarapura, MD
Department of Medicine
Virginia.sarapura@ucdenver.edu 303 724-3931

Life Cycle

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
Andy Bradford, PhD
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Andy.bradford@ucdenver.edu 303-724-3507
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Sonya Erickson, MD
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
sonya.erickson@ucdenver.edu 303 724-2038 

Infectious Disease

   
BASIC SCIENCE CO-DIRECTOR
David Barton, PhD
Department of Microbiology
david.barton@ucdenver.edu 303 724-4215 
CLINICAL CO-DIRECTOR
Ed Janoff, MD
Department of Medicine
edward.janoff@ucdenver.edu  303-315-7233

Foundations Of Doctoring

   
DIRECTOR
Wendy Madigosky, MD, MSPH
Department of Family Medicine
Wendy.Madigosky@ucdenver.edu 303 724-6420 

Mentored Scholarly Activity Program

   
DIRECTOR
Allan Prochazka, MD
Department of Medicine
Allan.Prochazka@ucdenver.edu  303 393-2839

Thread Directors

   
Medicine and Society Director:
Mark Earnest, MD
Department of Medicine
Mark.Earnest@ucdenver.edu 303 372-2248 
Ethics/Humanities/Professionalism Director:
Jackie Glover, PhD
Center for Bioethics and Humanities
Jackie.Glover@ucdenver.edu  303 724-3992 
Culturally Effective Medicine Director:
Paritosh Kaul, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Paritosh.kaul@ucdenver.edu 720-777-6131 
Evidence-based Medicine and Medical Informatics
Tim Byers, MD, MPH
Department of Pediatrics
Tim.Byers@ucdenver.edu​ 303-724-1283