Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Sub-Internships

Phase IV


Sub-Internships Overvi​ew

Sub-Internship (Sub-I) courses are designed to prepare students for their internships. All medical students are required to complete a minimum of one sub-internship course. There are twenty-two courses that meet the minimum requirements of a sub-internship.

    1. The clerkship must be at the 8000 level and a minimum of 4 weeks in duration with at least two-thirds of the time devoted to hospitalized patients.
    2. The student must assume primary patient care responsibility for each hospitalized patient assigned. Primary care responsibilities are defined as completing all documentation on the patient, writing orders, presenting to attendings to determine the medical course, and talking to consultative services when needed.
    3. The student must take primary call similar to the intern on the team. The following courses that meet the minimum requirements for Sub-Internships.
 

Student Academic Responsibil​ities

In addition to their clinical duties, all medical students enrolled in a sub-internship will be required to complete the following:
  • New Innovations Course Evaluations
  • New Innovations Faculty Evaluations
  • New Innovations Resident Evaluations
  • New Innovations Course Career Development Data
  • Completion of a standardized Mid-Point Feedback Form
  • One Quality Improvement project
  • One Advanced Communications project

Additional information regarding these responsibilities may be found in the course syllabus or by contacting the Sub-Internship Course Director.
    

Available Sub-Internships​​

These Sub-Internship courses meet the University of Colorado School of Medicine requirement for graduation.

​​Course # ​​Course Title Course Director
​ANES 8001 ​Surgery Intensive Care Sub-I ​Fareed Azam, MD (Fareed.Azam@ucdenver.edu)
​FMMD 8002 ​Fam Med Univ Hosp Sub-I ​Jessica Devitt, MD (Jessica.Devitt@ucdenver.edu​)
​FMMD 8016 ​Colorado FMRs Sub-I ​Julie Paranka, MD (​Julie.Paranka@ucdenver.edu​)
​MEDS 8001 ​Medicine Sub-I ​Adam Trosterman, MD (Adam.Trosterman@ucdenver.edu​)
​MEDS 8002 ​​Hospital Medicine Sub-I ​Christopher King, MD (Christopher.King@ucdenver.edu)
​MEDS 8034 ​Critical Care St Joseph's Sub-I ​Elizabeth Cyran, MD (Elizabeth.Cyran@sclhs.net​)
​NSUR 8014 ​Neurosurgery Sub-I ​Yasuaki Harasaki, MD (Yasuaki.Harasaki@dhha.org​​)
​OBGY 8000 ​General Obstetrics Sub-I ​Jennifer Hyer, MD (Jennifer.Hyer@dhha.org)
​​OBGY 8001 ​General Gynecology Sub-I ​Jennifer Hyer, MD (Jennifer.Hyer@dhha.org​)
​​OBGY 8004 ​High Risk Maternal/Fet Sub-I ​Meghan Donnelly, MD (Meghan.Donnelly@ucdenver.edu)
​​OBGY 8005 ​Gynecologic Oncology Sub-I ​Jaime Arruda, MD (Jaime.Arruda@ucdenver.edu)
​​OBGY 8012 ​UH Gynecology Sub-I ​Brittney Bastow, MD (Brittney.Bastow@ucdenver.edu)
​ORTH 8000 ​Orthopedic Surgery Sub-I ​Frank Scott, MD (Frank.Scott@ucdenver.edu)
​PEDS 8000 ​Pediatric Sub-I ​Jennifer Soep, MD (Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org)
​PEDS 8015 ​Pediatric Neonatology Sub-I Danielle Smith, MD (Danielle.Smith@childrenscolorado.org)
Jennifer Soep, MD (Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org​)
​PEDS 8027 ​Pediatric ICU Sub-I Angela Czaja, MD (Angela.Czaja@childrenscolorado.org​)
​Jennifer Soep, MD (Jennifer.Soep@childrenscolorado.org​)
​SURG 8000 ​Gen Surg Univ Sub-I ​Tom Whitehill, MD (Thomas.Whitehill@va.gov​)
​SURG 8001 ​Gen Surg DHMC Sub-I ​Ryan Lawless, MD (Ryan.Lawless@dhha.org)
​SURG 8002 ​Gen Surg St Joseph's Sub-I ​Ed Kimm, MD (G.Edward.Kimm@sclhs.net)
​SURG 8008 ​Cardiothoracic Surg Sub-I ​David Fullerton, MD (David.Fullerton@UCDenver.edu)
​SURG 8012 ​Urology Sub-I ​Ty Higuchi, MD (Ty.Higuchi@ucdenver.edu)
​SURG 8021 ​Surgical Critical Care Sub-I ​Ryan Lawless, MD (Ryan.Lawless@dhha.org)​