Skip to main content
Sign In

Department of Psychiatry

Department of Psychology


Apply Now





Contact Us

Alexis A. Giese, MD
Program Director

Phone: (303) 724-6021
Email:Dr. Giese


Kimberly Slavsky
Program Coordinator

Department of Psychiatry
13001 E 17th Pl., MS-F546
Bldg 500, Rm E2322
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: (303) 724-6021
Fax: (303) 724-4963
Email:Kimberly Slavsky







Psychiatry Residency

Training Program

Dr. Alexis A. Giese, Program Director and Vice-Chair, Department of Psychiatry

The psychiatrist of the 21st Century will integrate the historical traditions in psychology and behavioral science with the evolving developments in molecular, neuronal, and genetic aspects of brain function. The faculty of the Department of Psychiatry are dedicated to training you to bring all the tools of modern clinical science to understand and treat mental illnesses, incorporating the psychotherapeutic skills and cultural awareness for individual patients that have always been psychiatry's strength. Faculty who lead nationally known programs in substance abuse, neuropsychiatry, neuro-imaging, molecular genetics, psychopharmacology, Native American mental health, infant and early childhood development, forensics, telepsychiatry, and psychoanalysis are integrated into clinical and scholarly training experiences.  Residents and faculty work together to shape an academic, lifelong-learning, and patient care environment that promote our trainees’ achievement of their career goals.

Our unique program offers diverse clinical experiences at University of Colorado Hospital, Denver Health Medical Center, the Denver Veterans Administration Medical Center, Children’s Hospital Colorado, and other training settings throughout our community.  Intensive teaching in clinical settings is complemented by formal conferences and individual supervision, offering residents full access to the faculty's expertise and mentorship.

I invite you to explore our site and learn more about our programs.


Alexis A. Giese, MD
Program Director & Vice Chair of Graduate Medical Education