Skip to main content
Sign In
Critical Care Medicine Faculty at The Children's Hospital

Welcome to Critical Care Medicine

The Department of Pediatrics Section of Critical Care Medicine provides inpatient clinical services at Children's Hospital Colorado, in Aurora, Colorado. 

  • We are recognized as one of the top pediatric critical care research programs nationally, with one of the highest levels of extramural funding within a critical care section.
  • The SCCOR Program entitled “Lung Vascular Diseases in Infants and Children: Mechanisms and Treatment” was one of only two programs funded in the U.S. to study pediatric pulmonary hypertension.
  • We are actively involved in national efforts to improve patient safety and promote quality improvement in the pediatric intensive care unit.

Please explore our Web site for more information, and contact us if you have any questions.

We provide care via an integrative approach, using the expertise of pediatric intensivists, pulmonologists, cardiologists, & other medical subspecialists. MORE »

We offer a variety of educational programs including a 3-year Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Children's Hospital MORE »

Our work includes research at the basic molecular and cellular levels, as well as translational biology and physiology studies. MORE »


  • Dr. Kurt Stenmark was appointed to the Pulmonary Vascular Research Institute (PVRI) Steering and Scientific Committee of the Congress and attended and presented his work at the 7th National Congress in Guangzhou, China.
  • Dr. Peter Mourani will serve as the Site Director and Dr. Todd Carpenter will serve as the Alternate Site Director for the Collaborative Pediatric Critical Care Research Network (CPCCRN), a network of 7 clinical Pediatric Intensive Care Units funded by a five-year, $16.5 million NIH grant from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) to perform innovative research projects in pediatric critical care.
  • Dr. Carol Okada has been appointed Director of Service of Inpatient Pediatrics at Denver Health. In her new role Dr. Okada will oversee the Inpatient Pediatrics group which is comprised of the physicians, advanced practitioners, residents and students on the Pediatric Unit, PICU, NICU and Well Baby Nursery.
  • Dr. Peter Mourani was named Medical Director for the Children's Clinical Research Organization (CCRO). In this role, Dr. Mourani will be the overall medical leader for the CCRO and will work in close collaboration with investigators, leaders and staff across the organization and campus to improve, expand and oversee research services, regulatory compliance, and operations.