Skip to main content
Sign In



Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes

Cherie Cobb
Executive Administrator
Barbara Davis Center
The Anschutz Medical Campus
Mail Stop B140
1775 Aurora Court
Aurora, CO 80045

Phone: 303-724-2323

Email: Cherie Cobb


Children's Hospital Colorado -​​​​​​​

Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes

Affiliate - Department of Pediatrics

The Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes (BDC) is one of the largest diabetes programs specializing in type 1 diabetes research and care (both for children and adults) in the world. The BDC is managed as a distinct administrative unit of the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

In 1978, Marvin Davis generously provided funds for the construction of the BDC building. The Center was opened in 1980 at the former 9th Avenue campus in Denver. In May 2005, the BDC relocated to our new building on the Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, Colorado.

Our independent budget, fund raising, and endowments provide unique facilities and resources for clinicians, clinical researchers, and basic biomedical scientists working to help patients with type 1 diabetes. The Center provides state-of-the-art clinical diabetes care to 80% of children with diabetes in Colorado, 2,000 adults within the Rocky Mountain Region, and also receives national and international referrals.

Executive Director: Marian J. Rewers, MD, PhD, MPH
Clinical Division Director: Marian J. Rewers, MD, PhD, MPH
Research Division Director:

On this website you will find overview information from the Department of Pediatrics' Report about research, clinical services, education activities, faculty, recent publications, research funding, and awards and honors for the Barbara Davis Center.

Visit the Barbara Davis Center's own website for further information.


  • On June 2nd, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and the Helmsley Charitable Trust gave the Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes (BDC) $1.2M for a 12-month planning phase of new Autoimmunity Screening for Kids (ASK). In collaboration with a network of Denver metro pediatricians, the Children’s Hospital Colorado and community partners, we will develop and test the most efficient approaches to screening for pre-clinical type 1 diabetes and celiac disease. A 3-year mass screening, to start next summer, will include 50,000-70,000 Denver metro schoolchildren and will likely provide strong evidence for adding these tests to routine pediatric practice.
  • Lori Sussel, PhD has been named Director of the Basic and Translational Research Division at the BDC. Dr. Sussel will join the Center on a part-time basis on January 1st 2016, transitioning entirely to the BDC by April 1st, 2016.
  • Researchers from the BDC are featured in the current issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). The international team found that daily dose of insulin resulted in an immune response without hypoglycemia, pointing toward the need for further trials to see if it is possible to develop a vaccine for the disease.