Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Center for NeuroScience Denver

Center for NeuroSurgery

Small Grants Program


The Center for NeuroScience will offer annual pilot/seed grants for investigators in neuroscience. Our collaboration with the CCTSI will allow for a more centralized submission and review process. Acceptance of an award from the center requires contributing funds from faculty home departments.  

Innovation in Translational Neuroscience/Basic Neuroscience
Funding up to $30,000 ($20K from CNS, $10K from department) for one year to support data collection for a novel grant application in translational neuroscience research. 
Collaborative Research in Translational Neuroscience/Basic Neuroscience
Funding up to $100,000 ($54K from CNS, $26K from collaborating PIs departments, $20K from CCTSI) for one year to support novel collaborative translational neuroscience research between investigators in clinical and basic research departments or a collaborative project between basic research departments exclusively.  This award mechanism is not designed to support pre-existing collaborative projects. 
For additional details and to submit and application, please go to the CCTSI website.

Congratulations to the following investigators for receiving pilot awards this year.


CNS-Pilot Basic Research Independent Awards ($30K total: $20,000 from CNS)

PI: Lee Niswander, PhD

Title: “Investigating the cellular and molecular roles of the GCN5 ub corticostriatal development and obsessive-compulsive phenotypes”

PI: David Beckham, MD

Title: “Mechanisms of Alpha-synuclein induced restriction of viral infectionss in the central Nervous system”

PI: Santos Franco, PhD

Title: "Novel interactors of the Reelin signaling pathway and their potential roles in healthy brain function and Alzheimer's disease pathology"

CNS Translational Team Science Award ($100K total; $54,000 from CNS, $20K from CCTSI, $26K from Department)

PI: Daniel Lindberg, MD

Title: "Fast MR for young children with traumatic brain injury- A pilot study"

For a list of awardees in 2012-2014, please click here.