Skip to main content
Sign In

Program Director


Dr. Stuart Linas, M.D. 

Professor of Medicine

Chief of Nephrology, Denver Health Medical Center

Program Director, University of Colorado Denver Nephrology Fellowship Program


Dr. Stuart Linas, UCHSC Nephrology Training Program Director, is a graduate of Tufts University School of Medicine and was a House Officer at the University of Rochester School of Medicine, Strong Memorial Hospital. He completed his Renal Fellowship Program under the direction of Dr. Robert W. Schrier, Dr. Tomas Berl and Dr. Robert Anderson in 1978 and afterward he joined the faculty in the Department of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. Dr. Linas ran a basic science laboratory from 1978–2000. His research made significant contributions to the area of Angiotensin II Receptor Physiology, Cell and Molecular Biology, especially with regard to vascular smooth muscle and renal tubular epithelial cell function. Additionally, Dr. Linas was one of the first individuals to identify an important role for inflammatory factors in the initiation and maintenance phases of acute renal failure.

Since July 2000, Dr. Linas has devoted his effort to education, primarily to the Nephrology Fellowship Training at UCHSC. He was on the executive committee of the Training Program Directors' Committee of the America Society of Nephrology (ASN) for five years, and he chaired the committee for two years. Recently, Dr. Linas was appointed to the Hypertension Advisory Committee of the ASN and serves as its chair. This committee will serve a primary advisory role to the ASN with regard to new research and educational initiative in high blood pressure. Dr. Linas is on the executive committee of the American Society of Subspecialty Professors and serves as the President. Additionally, Dr. Linas is the Education Editor of the American Journal of Kidney Disease and he serves as a member of the Subspecialty Board of Nephrology of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM), as the Chair of the Renal Subspecialty Board and as a member of the Board of Directors of the ABIM.