Skip to main content
Sign In

Department of Medicine Newsroom

Research, Community and Medical News Updates


Coloradans dealing with lung diseases after working on military bases with garbage burn pits

“Ten years ago, I don’t think we knew anything about burn pits. I don’t think we even knew the term burn pits,” said Cecile Rose, a pulmonologist at National Jewish Health [and professor of medicine at CU School of Medicine].

Lung Cancer Patient, Doctor Q&A Provides ‘Hope With Answers’

A University of Colorado Cancer Center oncologist is described as one of the leading minds in lung cancer.

Does waist size predict dementia risk?

The first large-scale cohort study of its kind looked at the link between waist circumference in later life and the risk of dementia in a population of older Asian adults.

Burnout is rampant among doctors and nurses. Can the arts help?

For decades, art therapy has been used to help patients. But today, people like Moss are looking at how it can also help health care providers.

Defibrillation testing losing ground as a safety check for ICDs

“The benefits of DFT (defibrillation testing) have not routinely been demonstrated,” Ryan T. Borne, of CU Anschutz Medical Campus, and colleagues wrote in JAMA Network Open.

Annual meeting highlights intersection of obesity, diabetes

“ObesityWeek is really the central hub for science on obesity treatment and weight management,” Paul MacLean, professor at CU Anschutz Medical Campus and an ObesityWeek program committee co-chair, told Endocrine Today.

‘Rational combination therapies’ stand as the next step in thyroid cancer

Bryan R. Haugen received the 2019 Sydney H. Ingbar award during the Annual Meeting of the American Thyroid Association.

Your Health: New chemical compound targets leukemia stem cells

Oncologist Dan Pollyea did have one option: an FDA approved clinical trial testing a low dose chemo combined with the pill venetoclax, a drug that targets leukemia stem cells.

A woman was dying of liver cancer, until a hepatitis C-infected organ saved her life

As a young medical student, he had taken the Hippocratic Oath and pledged "first, do no harm." But here he was, purposefully infecting one of his patients with hepatitis C.

A woman was dying of liver cancer, until a hepatitis C-infected organ saved her life

“What have I done?” James R. Burton Jr. thought to himself in disbelief. As a young medical student, he had taken the Hippocratic Oath and pledged “first, do no harm.” But here he was, purposefully infecting one of his patients with hepatitis C.

Sexual Orientation in Men Can Affect the Intestinal Flora Which Can Raise the Risk of HIV Infection

The co-authors of the study are Sam X. Li and Catherine Lozupone from the Medical Campus of the University of Colorado Anschutz.

Sharing Stories Connects Clinicians to Each Other, Patients

Palliative care doctor Katherine Morrison, from the University of Colorado School of Medicine, remembers when she was asked to talk to a group of internal medicine residents who had been dealing with some “difficult things” on their rotation.

Weight-loss medications continue to be prescribed at ‘low rates’

“Weight-loss medications are the intermediate choice between lifestyle programs and bariatric surgery in both effectiveness and cost,” David R. Saxon.

Heart Attack And Stroke Risk Increase With Big Income Drop, Study Says

A sudden income drop can take a toll on an individual's health, according to a study. The study stated that big pay cut can increase the risk of heart attack and stroke.

CMS Payment Change for Noninvasive Cardiac Tests Backfires

“Our study finds that CMS is paying substantially more for noninvasive cardiovascular testing when it is performed in the hospital-based outpatient setting compared with the physician-based office setting,” Frederick Masoudi.

Income loss tied to elevated risk of CVD

A drop in income over six years was linked to a higher likelihood of CVD in a recent analysis of the ARIC (Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities) study, suggesting financial stress might be a predictor of worse heart health in the U.S.

Second Primaries Different in Early- vs Late-Stage DLBCL

“We hypothesized that if the genetic milieu of early stage DLBCL is different than that of late-stage disease, then the incidence and timing and the temporal association of secondary primary malignancies would also be different,” said Manali Kamdar.

Is vaping a healthier alternative to traditional cigarettes?

Pulmonary Physician Jeff Sippel with UCHealth [and CU School of Medicine] says it will take more time to really study the potential risks to vaping.

Losing Your Job Can Be a Real Heart Breaker

“One could argue that the fraying social and economic fabric of American society is, quite literally, killing us,” said Edward Havranek, a professor of medicine and cardiology with the Denver Health Medical Center [and CU School of Medicine].

Leukemia cure? New approach to kill cancer

“We’ve never seen a drug work like this, to target any type of cancer cell, let alone a stem cell,” said Dan Pollyea, Clinical director of Leukemia Services, CU Cancer Center at the Anschutz Medical Campus.