Skip to main content
Sign In
Anatomical Donor Memorial, 2009

What is the State Anatomical Board?

The Colorado State Anatomical Board is an agency of the State, created by statute in 1927. It is located at the School of Medicine at the University of Colorado. The members of the board are the Deans of the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, and the Chairs of the Departments of Surgery and of Cell and Developmental Biology.

The State Anatomical Board was created to receive donated bodies for the purpose of education and research. Human anatomy is the basis of all medical knowledge, and can only be learned by anatomical study.

The giving of one's body at the time of death for anatomical study is truly a noble and commendable act. It is a gift of inestimable value both now and to future generations.

Contact us: State Anatomical Board at 303-724-2410

Contact at time of death: Please ask your family to call the board at 303-724-2410. If you are not called back immediately, please call the University Hospital operator at 720-848-0000.

Board members:
Chairman, Anatomical Board of the State of Colorado:
John J. Reilly, Jr., M.D., Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of School of Medicine
Secretary-Treasurer, Anatomical Board of the State of Colorado: Dr. Mike Pascoe, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine
Other Members:
Dr. Wendy Macklin, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Dept. of Cell and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine
Dr. Denise Kassebaum, DDS, MS, Dean, School of Dental Medicine
Dr. Michael Savage, DDS, School of Dental Medicine