Skip to main content
Sign In

Welcome to the University of Colorado School of Medicine on the Anschutz Medical Campus. We are a Top Ten Medical School in primary care, pediatrics, family medicine and rural medicine, and offer physical therapy and physician assistant programs.

Structural Biology & Biophysics Banner Image
 

Students


 

 Image Web Part

 
 

 Students

 
Name
Research Interest
  
  

​Alex Barrett

BARRETT, ALEXANDER - 102967685.jpg


Alexander.Barrett@ucdenver.edu 

First year student in lab rotations.
First Year StudentB.S. Biology, Florida State University; M.S. Biology, University of South Florida

Blevins, Melanie

blevins melanie.png

Melanie.Blevins@ucdenver.edu

Recipient of the University of Colorado Cancer Center Paul Sandoval Pancreatic Cancer Research Scholarship, "Targeting the Six1-Eya Interaction for Pancreatic Cancer Therapeutics"

Targeting protein-protein interactions for potential anti-cancer therapeutics.
Dr. Rui ZhaoB.S. General Biology, Graceland University;  M.S. Medicinal Chemistry, The University of Kansas

​Darin Brown

Darin.Brown@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications​

Increasing NMR Signal to Noise Sensitivity
Dr. Brad BendiakB.S. Biomedical Engineering & M.S. Physiology and Biophysics, Case Western Reserve University

​Ying-Chih (Thomas) Chi

Ying-chih.Chi@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications​

Dr. Changwei LiuB.S. Biology, Fu Jen Catholic University; M.S. Molecular Medicine, National Cheng Kung University

​Vishantie Dostal

Vishantie.JPG

VISHANTIE.DOSTAL@UCDENVER.EDU​ 

PubMed Publications​

Dr. Mair ChurchillB.S. Biology, University of Rhode Island

​Erik Hartwick

hartwickErik_Stache.jpg
erik.hartwick@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications​

Understanding the structural basis of RNA manipulation of ribosomes by IRES RNAs
Dr. Jeffrey KeiftBS Colorado State University; MS Colorado State University

​Ryan Hill

HillWebPhoto.jpg
RYAN.HILL@UCDENVER.EDU​

PubMed Publications​

Improved Tissue Proteomics - Characterizing the Extracellular Matrix
Dr. Kirk HansenB.S. Biochemistry & Biology, Kansas State University

​Michael Holliday

Holliday Michael.JPG

Michael.Holliday@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications​

I'm interested in unraveling the mechanisms by which dynamic motions in biological macromolecultes enable and/or regulate function. Specifically, I'm working with the cyclophilin family of proteins, using NMR and other biophysical methods to determine what motions exist within the proteins, how regional dynamics communicate througout the proteins, and how those motions impact the family's ability to catalyze peptidyl-prolyl isomerization.
Dr. Elan EisenmesserB.A. Dartmouth College; M.S. Thayer School of Engineering at Darthmouth College

​Agnieszka Kendrick

Aga Picture.jpg
Agnieszka.Kendrick@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications​

Recipient of NIH F31 National Cancer Institute, National Research Service Award (NRSA), "The activity and molecular interactions of extracellular EMMPRIN"

My research focuses on studying several of the primary mechanisms that underlay cancer progression with a particular emphasis on pancreatic cancer. I utilize combinations of biophysical, biochemical and cell-based techniques to assess the interactions and activities of two of the major proteins implicated in tumorigenesis and metastasis, which are Cyclophilin A (CypA) and the glycoprotein EMMPRIN (Extracellular Matrix Metalloproteinase).

Dr. Elan EisenmesserB.S. in Computational Chemistry, University of Wroclaw, Poland; M.S. in Chemistry, University of Colorado Denver

​Jacek Klepacki

JACEK.KLEPACKI@UCDENVER.EDU​

PubMed Publications​

Kidney Dysfunction Biomarkers for the Early Detection of Allograft Dysfunction
Dr. Uwe ChristiansB.A. Biology, University of Kansas-Lawrence

​Stacey Moslet

DSCF0005.jpg
Stacey.Moslet@ucdenver.edu

Dr. Elan EisenmesserB.A. Biochemistry, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs

​Stephen Pollard

spollard.jpg
Stephen.Pollard@ucdenver.edu​

Biophysics, protein evolution mechanisms and modelling.
Dr. David PollockB.A. Physics, Princeton University

​Kara Schmitz

SCHMITZ, KARA - 995251728.jpg

Kara.Schmitz@ucdenver.edu

The structure and dynamics of folding and mis-folding proteins and the possible implications. First year student in lab rotations.
First Year StudentB.S. Chemistry, University of Colorado Denver  B.S. Psychology, Texas A&M University

​Ryan Walsh

05.jpg

Ryan.Walsh@ucdenver.edu​

PubMed Publications: Pub1  Pub2​

'Alteration of the Human Tear Proteome as a result of Ocular Surgery'
Dr. Mark DuncanB.S. Biology, New Jersey Institute of Technology; M.S. Biochemistry, Rutgers University

​Sten Wie

Sten.Wie@ucdenver.edu​

Existence of the Internal Ribosomal Entry Site (IRES) within the 5' UTR of thymidylate synthase.
Dr. Mary ReylandB.S. Biology, University of Colorado-Denver

​Candice Wike

Candice.Wide@ucdenver.edu

PubMed Publications​

Dr. Jessica TylerB.S. Biochemistry, University of California-San Diego