Hooding and Oath Ceremony

In Honor of the Class of 2020

Our 137th Year of Service to Colorado and Mankind

University of Colorado School of Medicine - 1883-2020

May 22, 2020

Program

Welcome &

Introduction of Class Speaker

Brian Dwinnell, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Associate Dean of Student Life

Greetings from the Graduates

Oliver Bawmann Class Speaker

Medical Student Council Executive President

Introduction of Guest Speaker

Megan Perez

Co-President, Class of 2020

Message from Guest Speaker

to the Class of 2020

Nichole G. Zehnder, M.D.

Associate Dean for Educational Strategy

Washington University School of Medicine in

St. Louis

Remarks to Graduates

John J. Reilly, Jr., M.D.

Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs

Dean, School of Medicine

Marching Order Presentation

of Graduates

Jeffrey Druck, M.D.

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

Physician's Oath for the Class of 2020

Shanta Zimmer, M.D.

Senior Associate Dean for Education

Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion



The Degree of Doctor of Medicine John J. Reilly, Jr., Dean of the School of Medicine

May 2020 Candidates

Davis M. Aasen Natasha G. Aguirre Abdel Hafez Rajab Albakri Erin M. Aldag Devon Anderson Elliott Todd Antman Nicholas Edward Arlas Alvaro Assuncao Patrick Thao Autruong Adam G. Avant Erika N. Baird Vance Barksdale Abigail Leigh Barnes Oliver Marcus Bawmann Theodore Black Jason G. Bunn Cara Campbell** Samuel Jeffrey Carpentier Adam Mero Carroll Rachel Anne Carroll Lakota Justin Cheek Priya Chopra Shaver Chowdhury Diana Clabots Deanna Rae Claus Ryan Cox Eric W. Cross Graham Taylor Custar Taylor Rose Davis Jessica Suzanne Demes Jaclyn Emily DeRieux William Dewispelaere Dung Quoc Doan Erin Jeanelle Drake Paul Eigenberger Amanda A. Ellgen Elizabeth Rae Empey Alexander T. Ferber Ioshua Michael Ferreri Kirk Brant Fetters **Jacob Aaron Fox** Amy Franks Stephanie Mariko Fukui Richard Fuld, III**

Derek D. George Declan Grabb Andrei Gurau Sarah Marie Haeger Lakotah Doig Hardie Margaret Anne Harrison Brittany C. Hartman Travis Hays Mario Alberto Hernandez Ryan Hirata Kellen Hirsch Carolyn Ho Thatcher Seton Houldin Robert Hoyt Kristina Anne Hulen Anastasia Hunt Matthew Lawrence Hupy Katherine Clare Jankousky Trevor Mark Janus **Jared Scott Johnson** Derek Ramon Jones Alex Christopher Jouflas Kathryn Emily Kalata Megan Elizabeth Kalata Abigail Miriam Cher Kaye Warren Trevor Keyser Azin Kheirandish Pishkenari Gregory Kirkpatrick Peter Joseph Klauck Jackson Dreher Kloor Margaret L. Kreider Carlson Vishnupriya M. Krishnan Maggie Mae Kuusinen Steven Yicheng Lai Eric James Lakey Andrew Francis Lamp Renzo Alejandro Laynes Dillon Le** Katy S. Lehenbauer Eric Lemieux Pierce Lewien Tamara Penzom Lhungay Angel Li Matthew Lippi

Yang Liu

Colleen Donohue Long Bailey Alexander Loving Zachary Leonard Lubline Armela Makas Daniele Erminia Marcy Alejandro Itzam Marin Andrew Szumilas Maroncelli Ethan Karl Maulsby Aaron Laurence Mauner Giselle McIntvre** Halea Kala Meese Robert Louis Meller Iain Michael Miller Madison Miranda Roya Brooke Mirhossaini Eric Montgomery Joseph Arthur Morales Mallory Elizabeth Myers Meghan Chelsea Nedic Claire Nguyen** Thuy X. Nguyen Bao Tran Ngoc Nhan Cameron R. Niswander Laurel C. Officer Zoe Olivia Kline Panchal Harin Bhavin Parikh Rachel Elizabeth Pauley Megan Ann Perez Zachary D. Pfeifer Andy Vo Phan Erik Von Polsdofer Scott Wilber Powers Ashley Quick Bear* Michelle Rastegar Kelsey Marie Repine Dillon James Riebel David Robertson Samuel Peter Russell Thomas Ryan Weston Ryan Colton D. Sauer Alexander C. Schulick Talia Scott

(continued on back)

Meha Semwal Shannon Mary Shaw Angela Marie Shimoda Darin T. Sisneros Drake Sisneros Jessica Elizabeth Smith Joshua Milton Smith Blake Marleau Snyder Subada Soti Nicholas Stephanus Brittan Shea Sutphin Kaitlin Fay Sweeney Kenji Tanaka

Margaret E. Tashjian
Molly A. Thayer
Loree Beth Thornton
Jon Alexander Torres
Billy Tran**
Krystal Tran**
Karlie Alyce Urbach
Katherine Van Deventer
Kaitlin VanderKolk
Alexander L. Vasconcellos
Andrew Phillip Vines
Eric Andrew Viquez

Miles P. Viseur
Jessica N. Vo
Nemanja Vukovic
Carson Barrett Walker
Catherine Waymel
Lindsay Louise Welton
Joshua Wheeler
Zachary Ryan Wuthrich
Erin F. Wylie
Minami Katie Yamamura
Heidi Yen
Amy E. Young

Marshals:

Austin Butterfield, MD Jeffrey Druck, MD Thomas French, PhD Juan Lessing, MD

Steven Lowenstein, MD Nichole Zehnder, MD

The Colorado Physician's Oath

I swear by what is sacred to me that I will fulfill, according to my ability and judgment, this oath and this covenant:

I devote myself to the health of humanity, with full respect for the dignity and worth of each person. Above all, I will strive to do no harm.

I recognize that my knowledge and skills are imperfect, and that I must always seek further training and growth. I will not perform treatments for which I am not qualified, and I will call upon others for help. In turn, I will gladly render aid when asked.

I commit myself to the profession of medicine, to the advancement of scientific knowledge, and to the education and mentorship of those who follow me.

I will respect the rights of my patients and colleagues and shall safeguard those confidences placed in me.

I will speak out when silence is wrong. I will respect the law, but I will not fail to seek changes that would reduce suffering or contribute to good health.

I recognize the trust that has been placed in me by society and by my colleagues. I will at all times comport myself with dignity, honesty, humility, and integrity.

These things I do swear solemnly, freely, and upon my personal and professional honor.

As amended by the Class of 2017

^{*} December 2020 Candidate

^{**} December 2019 Graduate