Email dated Tuesday, February 13, 2024

Good morning EXCOM,

I hope this email finds you all well. As we approach the time for recognizing and celebrating the outstanding contributions of faculty, I am sharing with you the criteria that EXCOM has historically used to assess and deliberate upon potential recipients for the Faculty Assembly Award. The process for award nominations/deliberations begins with the Executive Committee on February 27th, with the final determination/selection made by the full assembly during the April 2nd Faculty Assembly (full Assembly) meeting.

The **CU Denver Faculty Assembly Award** recognizes a member of the CU Denver community (encompassing administration, faculty, and staff) for contributions to shared and faculty governance at CU Denver.

The winner receives a plaque from Faculty Assembly, presented at a Faculty Assembly meeting.

Eligibility

Any member of the CU Denver Community—defined as a CU Denver employee with .5 FTE or greater or with the title of *professor emeritus* / *emerita*—who has contributed to one or more categories listed below to CU Denver, is eligible for the award.

Criteria

Significant contributions to the Denver Campus, as a whole
Significant contributions to the CU Denver Faculty Assembly or faculty governance
Significant contributions to the enhancement of faculty benefits, rights,
privileges, cultural or academic environment at CU Denver
Effective working relationship with faculty governance leaders at CU Denver
Contributions to a collaborative effort on a specific issue or project
Other significant contributions the CU Denver Community

Selection

The awardee will be selected by the CU Denver Faculty Assembly Executive Committee and should be designated in the spring semester. The committee may issue a call for nominations, may open discussion of the award to the Faculty Assembly, and may choose not to offer the award in any given year.

Year	Recipient	Title / Office
2018-2019	Margaret Wood	Director of the Center for Faculty Development
2019-2020	Joanne Addison	Professor of English, Chair of the CU Faculty Council
2020-2021	Lindsey Hamilton	Associate Professor of Psychology, Director of the Center for Director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
2021-2022 2022-2023	Eric Baker Nine Recipients	Teaching and Learning Librarian IRC Taskforce

FA Awards POC:

Dennis Dennis DeBay, PhD (he/him)
Secretary, Faculty Assembly
Assistant Professor (CTT) STEM Education
School of Education and Human Development
University of Colorado Denver
Director ThinqStudio | Faculty Assembly Secretary | UCDALI Vice President