Skip to main content
Sign In

Faculty Committees

Assessment Committee

The Assessment Committee shall consist of at least five faculty members, four students, and report to the faculty and administration. The committee is a standing faculty committee in the School charged by the Dean to assess teaching and learning in the curriculum by creating an assessment plan and reviewing assessment activities.  As a secondary goal, the committee will assist administration to define objective and subjective measures of performance for other School missions. 

Charges to the Committee:

  1. Create an assessment plan that meets accreditation standards, pursue a realistic timetable for achieving the assessment plan and prepare requisite reports in a timely fashion.
  2. Take a scholarly approach to identify, evaluate and recommend improvements in assessment instruments and methods to assure quality assessment and advancement of learning in the curriculum.
  3. Develop assessment matrices for achieving:  student learning and mastery, curricular quality and teaching evaluation process
  4. Student learning and mastery: evaluate appropriateness of course-embedded assessments for linkage to curricular ability-based outcomes, and evaluate student learning based on these assessments. 
  5. Assess data from external assessments of curricular quality (e.g. ACPE/AACP surveys, NAPLEX results, etc.) and forward to pertinent stakeholders.
  6. Assure that the assessment process supports ongoing curricular review by the Curriculum Committee. 

2018-2019 Assessment Committee

  • Members
    • Molly Huntsman, Chair
    • Six Faculty Members

  • Ex-Officio Members
    • Jason Brunner
    • Kari Franson
    • Shaun Gleason
    • Kevin Lawanto
    • David Thompson