Skip to main content
Sign In

Maroon Bells College

Maroon Bells College
Julie Dyer

Hello Maroon Bells! I'm Julie. I'm from northern Utah originally and went to undergrad at University of Utah in Salt Lake City. Wanting to stay close to the Rocky Mountains that I so adore, I made my way to Denver for medical school. While I majored in Spanish, I also pursued a minor in Chemistry and I've found that I am happiest when I'm balancing varying interests. That's part of why I took up triathlons since moving to Colorado. I'm going into pediatrics because I need playfulness in my life as much as possible. If you happen to be in one of the cliché romantic couples of your class (or - gasp! - in an inter-class relationship), I can relate. So if it's questions about couples matching, emotional lability due to unreasonable amounts of med school stress, finding a mentor, or needing a biking buddy, just let me know!

Michael "Rudy" Rudolph

I was born and raised around Littleton, Colorado and went to ThunderRidge High School. (Although I can proudly say I never actually lived in Highlands Ranch.) I left Colorado to attend Seattle Pacific University for undergrad, and, following graduation, stayed in Seattle another year as an AmeriCorps volunteer. In my second year off before medical school, I lived with my parents, which I don’t recommend, and worked at a family-owned acoustic music store. I wrote a lot of music, went to a lot of bluegrass jams, and learned to play the fiddle, poorly. Thankfully, I have been able to continue my interest in bluegrass in medical school as well as other interests, like snowboarding, ultimate Frisbee, and cycling. At UCD, I have been a part of the CU-UNITE track, and intend to work with the urban-underserved as a Family Medicine practitioner. I’m looking to stay here in Colorado, so if you know anyone who can hook that up…

Brooke Thurman

I’m originally from Colorado. I studied anthropology at Northwestern as an undergraduate and lived in Peru the year before starting med school. In med school I have been involved in the CU-UNITE underserved track and the C-STAHR research group. After 3rd year, I decided to complete a masters in global health and spent a few months in Kenya doing HIV research. This year I’m excited to come back to CO, apply for ob/gyn residency programs and FINALLY finish school.  My hobbies include running, biking, camping, skiing, and playing the piano. With all of my 4th year free time I’m hoping to improve on my banjo-picking skills. So if anyone out there is interested in playing some bluegrass, let me know!

Camri Wolf

I grew up in a small town in Illinois, with no stoplights and 60 people in my graduating class.  Then I jumped over one state and went to college at St. Ambrose University in Iowa for undergrad.  While that was fun for awhile, I am very glad to be in Denver now :) The skiing, hiking, and mountain views here in CO tend to trump the scenic Midwest.
Now that I'm a fourth year, I'm planning to practice primary care via Family Medicine.  Other fun future plans include getting married this August in Colorado, and enjoying all that fourth year brings. Also, I'm using the extra time to re-kindle my jewelry business online and spending a lot of time with DIY projects that I've missed for the past couple of years.  I'm excited to be part of Maroon Bells advising this year and am thinking that a group adventure to the actual Maroon Bells should be in all of our futures ;)

Tai Lockspeiser

Specialty: General Pediatrics
Training: UCSF for both medical school & residency
About me:  I grew up here in Denver -- my parents still live in the same house that I lived in for all of my childhood.  I went out to Stanford for college and managed to stay in California for 13 years.  I finished medical school and my pediatrics residency at the University of California, San Francisco. After a chief year, I decided it was time to come back to Colorado.  I now work at Children's Hospital as a general pediatrician both in the outpatient clinic and also on the wards at Denver Health.  My primary academic interest is medical education and teaching.  I have a masters in health professions education and am very excited to be involved with curriculum reform for the school of medicine.  Outside of work my life is mostly consumed with my two young daughters and being outside in Colorado. 

A few other random facts: My favorite ice cream flavor is mint chocolate chip! I was one of the inaugural ACP faculty and I only agreed to participate if my college could be maroon bells as that is my favorite place in the world!

Ben Scott
​Hi I'm Ben! I went to Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons for medical school. I then did my resideny and fellowhip in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine at University of Pennsylvania. My acadmic interests are organ failure and protection, phyisologic monitoring, medical informatics, and outcomes and comparative effectiveness research. Outside of medicine, I enjoy spending time with my family, going hiking, skiing and snowboarding, reading, cooking, cars, gadgets, and building things.
​Shannon Acker Specialty: General Surgery
Year: PGY 4
Medical School: Case Western Reserve University
Meaghann Bernardy Specialty: General Surgery
Year: PGY 4
Medical School: University of South Florida
Karen Christopher
Hi!  I grew up in Denver and headed out to the Midwest for college at Notre Dame where I graduated with a degree in Physics.  After, I returned home for medical school and graduated from the Univ of Colorado in 2013!  I am now completing a Transitional Year at Presbyterian St Luke's Hospital before heading out to the University of Michigan for my ophthalmology residency.  I was a student advisor for the Maroon Bells during its founding year, but now spend the majority of my free time watching Wheel of Fortune, looking into people's eyeballs, and playing Candy Crush.  If you're looking to get info about ophtho, or interested in Notre Dame game watches, I'm your gal!
Sarah Earle
Specialty: Internal Medicine / Genetics
Year: PGY 4
Medical School: Wayne State University
Austin Lammers Specialty: Internal Medicine
Year: PGY 3
Medical School: Ohio State University
David Otten
Specialty: Emergency Medicine
Year: PGY 2
Medical School: University of Colorado
Erin Preloger I grew up in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  I went to college at St. Olaf College, a small college in Minnesota.  I took 2 years off to work as an admissions counselor at St. Olaf before starting medical school at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.  I'm currently a second year pediatric resident and interested in pursuing a career in hospital medicine.  In my free time, I love to ski and hike! 
​Natalie Prohaska
Specialty: Psychiatry
Year: PGY 2
Medical School: Wayne State University
Amy Starr

Hi guys! I went to college at George Fox University in Newberg, Oregon, then medical school in Portland, Oregon at OHSU. I'm a 3rd year pediatric resident at the Children's Hospital Colorado and pursuing a community medicine career next year involving both inpatient and outpatient practice. I'm interested in rural practice and working with Hispanic populations in particular. Non-academic interests are many (when I get the time), but mostly hiking or anything outdoors, travel, literature, family, friends, and cooking.
Amanda Wallace
Specialty: General Surgery
Year: PGY 4
Medical School: Case Western Reserve University
Colleen Wood
Colleen Wood.jpeg

I am happy to be a Fellow Advisor for the Maroon Bells College.  I am very interested in career development and student education!  I am pleased to be able to share a little bit about myself.  To begin with, I find my roots in Bozeman, Montana.  I attended college at Montana State University in Bozeman, and then attended the University of Washington School of Medicine for medical school.  I happily completed my pediatric residency at the University of Colorado in 2008, and my Chief Resident year in 2009.  I then moved back to Billings, Montana, and worked as a general pediatrician at Billings Clinic for 3 years.  In 2012, I returned to Denver for Pediatric Endocrinology fellowship, and am currently in my second year of training.  In my free time, I enjoy hiking and biking with my husband.  We ride a tandem bicycle, and have participated in Ride the Rockies (2012) and the Courage Classic (2013).  I am looking forward to a great year working with the students of the University of Colorado!
Julie Lemoine ​Specialty: OB/GYN