Skip to main content
Sign In
AMC Research Building


Program Description:

         ·         Accreditation: Non-ACGME Accredited

         ·         Number of positions per year: 4 (four)

         ·         Stipend: 60% Fellow (PGY-V)/40% Attending - $153,000 for 2021-22


The Fellowship takes place at University of Colorado Hospital, in Aurora, Colorado.  UCH is a full-service 600-bed, adult academic medical center.  The hospital includes large inpatient and outpatient surgical areas. 

The Fellowship is composed as such:

         ·         60% Fellow – PGY V

o   Ultrasound guided and Nerve-stim peripheral nerve blocks

o   Nerve block catheters: both inpatient and outpatient

o   Neuraxial analgesia techniques

o   Epidural management and titration

o   Management of acute pai​n, largely in the surgical patient

o   Management of acute-on-chronic pain

o   Multimodal medication and non-pharmacologic management

o   Hands-on teaching resident-physicians Regional and Acute pain

o   Multi-disciplinary patient management

o   Research project in Regional/Acute pain realm

         ·         40% Attending – Senior Instructor

o   Supervisory position, covering Residents, AAs, CRNAs.

o   Hands-on teaching of resident-physicians, student AAs, SRNAs

o   All cases covered, except: Cardiac, Thoracic, Liver Transplant

o   “Moonlighting” - Additional paid-call opportunities on Attending days

The schedule will typically break down to a week of “Fellow activity,” with an alternating week of attending activity.  During the attending week, one day will be an Academic day, during which you will be able to pursue research work and studies, on your own time.  Additionally, the Regional & Acute Pain fellows will alternate weekly coverage, so as to allow the Acute Pain Service to have 100% Fellow staffing.

Regional/Acute Pain Faculty:

         ·         Olivia Romano, MD – Acute Pain Service Director & Fellowship Director

         ·         Kyle Marshall, MD  Associate Fellowship Director

         ·         Alison Brainard, MD

         ·         Roland Flores, MD

         ·         Adrian Hendrickse, MBBS

         ·         Dominique Schiffer, MD

         ·         Marina Shindell, DO

         ·         Inge Tamm-Daniels, MD

         ·         Jillian Vitter, MD​