Skip to main content
Sign In

About Us



CoE US Locations MapThe Integrated Food Safety Centers of Excellence were established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention under the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). The Centers of Excellence provide assistance and training to state and local health departments to build their capacity to track and investigate foodborne disease. CDC named Colorado, Florida, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, and Tennessee state health departments and their partner academic institutions as regional Centers of Excellence. The mission is to build capacity by developing and providing online and in-person resources, training, and assistance for foodborne illness surveillance and investigation.

With CDC's support, the Centers of Excellence aim to:

  • Strengthen surveillance and outbreak investigations
  • Analyze timeliness and effectiveness of responses
  • Train public health staff in proven surveillance and investigation techniques
  • Educate future food safety workforce
  • Improve capacity of information systems
  • Evaluate and communicate best practices

What we do in Colorado

The Colorado Integrated Food Safety Center of Excellence is a joint effort between the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and the Colorado School of Public Health at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus and Colorado State University. In Colorado, we focus on regional collaboration and providing tools for local health departments. Our region includes Arizona, colorado-region.jpgColorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming. We have many tools, resources, and services to aid investigators during an outbreak:

And much more! Explore our website, or contact us​ for additional information.​

Colorado School of Public Health

13001 E. 17th Place​
Mail Stop B119
Aurora, CO 80045


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.