Equity Task Force

About the Task Force

The Equity Task Force was formed in October 2020 as a result of Chancellor Marks' Equity Listening Sessions in order to address longer-term issues requiring significant analysis and further work. Chaired by Antwan Jefferson, Associate Clinical Professor, School of Education and Human Development and John Ronquillo, Assistant Professor, School of Public Affairs, the task force will work over the 2020-2021 academic year to delve into the core of our challenges, including structural barriers to hiring and promoting underrepresented faculty and staff. It will bring together faculty, staff and students to explore a host of issues – including how to close the achievement gap, what it means to be a Hispanic Serving Institution, how to create a culture of belonging, whether our policies are contributing to equity, and how we might diversify the curriculum -- and recommend an ambitious action plan and investment priorities.

Members of the Equity Task Force

Antwan Jefferson, Co-Chair, Associate Clinical Professor, School of Education & Human Development
John Ronquillo, Co-Chair, Assistant Professor of Nonprofit and Public Management, School of Public Affairs 
Cathy Bodine, Associate Professor of Bioengineering, Director, Center for Inclusive Design and Engineering,  College of Engineering, Design & Computing
Patrick Browne, Director, Veteran & Military Student Services (invited)
Anna Ramirez Crawford, Director of Foundation and Corporate Development, Office of Advancement and Staff Council Representative
Christopher Hilton, Associate Justice, Student Government Association Representative
Tania Hogan, Director of Undergraduate Student Success, School of Education & Human Development
Boram Jeong, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Sruthi Kannan, Events and Planning Senator, Student Government Association Representative
Laurence Kaptain, Dean, College of Arts & Media
Sarah Kovoor-Misra, Professor of Management, School of Business
Karey Krohnfeldt, Director of Equity, Office of Equity
Florie Montoya, Senior Director of Talent Acquisition and Compensation, Human Resources
Charles Musiba, Associate Professor of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Faculty Assembly Representative
Stephanie Puello, Student Progress Coordinator, Graduate School
James Speed, Coordinator, Center for Identity & Inclusion
Anthony Starke, Assistant Professor, School of Public Affairs

The Equity Task Force is advised by: 
Faye Caronan, Associate Professor of Ethnic Studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Chancellor’s Faculty Fellow 2020-2021

Marjorie Levine-Clark, Associate Dean for Diversity, Outreach and Initiatives and Professor of History, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Nelia Viveiros, Interim Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Operations

The Equity Task Force is staffed by:

Regina Kilkenny, Chief of Staff, Chancellor’s Office

Action Teams

The Equity Task Force has the support of over 115 university staff, faculty and students representing six action teams, three Resource focused teams: Data, Policy and Exemplars, and three Content focused Teams: People, Environment and Curriculum. Each team will focus on specific target areas where the university should improve around curriculum, work environment, accountability, transparency and university policy.