Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver

Colorado Area Health Education Center, University of Colorado Denver
 

Service Learning Education

Community Service Learning Education Experiences


Community Service Learning Education Experiences

What is a community service learning education (CSLE) experience?

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus health professions students help address real community needs through coordinated efforts.  The provider’s link to the community will be explored and students will take an active role in community education during a four- to twelve-week rural rotation experience. The regional Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) Student Support Services liaisons* arrange with the host community for the student to have give a health-related talk or serve the community’s health needs in some way. Health profession students should contact the regional AHEC’s liaison for specific information on the organization that has asked the student to participate.  Some CSLE experiences may provide interdisciplinary involvement.

CSLE Objectives

  • Understand the provider’s link to the community and the opportunities that providers have to influence the health of their communities “outside the office walls.”
  • Perform one health-related or educational activity in the community during the clerkship/rotation.
  • Provide information about health professions to students, if the community service involves students and/or schools.

School of Medicine students will complete a Community Service Learning Education Summary form and return it to Brenda Baumgarten at the end of the Clerkship / Rotation.

Regional AHEC Centers Student Support Services liaisons for CLSE

Centennial AHEC

Emily Jo Hasley: 970.330.3608; ehasley@cahec.org

Central Colorado AHEC

Gloria Nussbaum: 303.724.2614; gloria@centralcoahec.org

San Luis Valley AHEC

Lisa Lucero: 719.589.4977; lisa@slvahec.org

Southeastern Colorado AHEC

Debra Ball: 719.544.7833; debra.ball@secahec.org

Southwestern Colorado AHEC

Renee Knight: 970.903.1326; renee.knight@swcahec.org

Western Colorado AHEC

Steven Cruse: 970.985.5217; scruse@wcahec.org

University of Colorado Denver

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.