Skip to main content
Sign In

University Honors and Leadership Program

The Honors Faculty

The University of Colorado Denver Honors Faculty is made up of outstanding teachers and scholars committed to furthering honors-level education through the University Honors and Leadership (UHL) program.

The Honors Faculty consists of:

  • All faculty members teaching in the UHL program
  • Faculty members who serve as mentors to UHL Student Research Fellows
  • Faculty members of the UHL Steering Committee

Instructional Faculty

  • Michael Abeyta, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Spanish
  • Aimee Bernard, Ph.D., Senior Instructor, Integrative Biology
  • Peter Bryant, Ph.D., Professor of Decision Sciences
  • Pompa Banerjee, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English
  • Margaret Bruehl, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • Nancy Ciccone, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English
  • Judith Coe, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Music 
  • Michael Cummings, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science
  • Jennifer Davis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English
  • Douglas Dyckes, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry
  • Larry Erbert, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Communication
  • Manuel Espinoza, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Literacy
  • J. Jeffrey Franklin, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English
  • Linda Fried, J.D., Instructor, Information Systems
  • Georg Gadow, Ph.D., Associate Director for Leadership Studies
  • Rene Galindo, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Linguistically Diverse Education
  • James Grigsby, Ph.D., Professor of Medicine
  • Daniel Howard, Ph.D., Dean, CLAS and Professor of Biology
  • Stefanie Johnson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Management
  • Lisa Julian​, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • Heather Kennedy, M.P.H., Department of Psychiatry, Children's Hospital
  • Weldon A. Lodwick, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
  • L. Ann Martin, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Accounting
  • Steven G. Medema, Ph.D., UHL Director and Professor of Economics
  • Sean McGowan, D.M.A. Assistant Professor of Music
  • Robert Metcalf, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Brian Ott, Ph.D., Visiting Professor of Communication
  • Carl E. Pletsch, Ph.D., Associate Professor of History
  • Jini Puma, Ph.D., Research Associate, Colorado School of Public Health
  • Niels Schonbeck, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry
  • Randall Tagg, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Physics 
  • Deborah Thomas, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Geography
  • Travis Vermilye,  Assistant Professor of Visual Arts
  • Craig Volk, M.F.A., Associate Professor of Theatre, Film and Video Production
  • Allan Wallis, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Public Policy
  • Christina Wilson, M.A., Instructor, Business School 

Faculty Mentors

Members of the Honors Faculty play a prominent role in the life of the UHL community. In addition to teaching innovative interdisciplinary courses in the UHL program and mentoring UHL student research, Honors Faculty members:

  • Participate in the admissions interviews of applicants to the UHL program
  • Act as advisors to the UHL Senior Research Seminar
  • Advise students on academic and career opportunities, including graduate work
  • Assess student applications for UHL scholarships
  • Share their expertise with UHL students in a variety of formal and informal settings
  • Devise and participate in co- and extra-curricular activities of the UHL program, including guiding students into internship programs and community service opportunities
  • Encourage faculty participation in the UHL program and provide support for the program across the University

University Honors and Leadership Program

Phone: 303-315-7838 • Fax: 303-315-7836

Street Address: 1047 Ninth Street Park • Mailing Address: Campus Box 199, PO Box 173364, Denver, CO 80217-3364


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.