Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver


American Pharmacist Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP)

Description: APhA is the oldest (est. 1852) and largest pharmacy association (60,000+) in the U.S. Comprised of practicing pharmacists, student pharmacists and pharmacy technicians, APhA provides information, education and advocacy to empower its members to improve medication use and advance patient care.

Membership requirements: Open to all pharmacy students, $60 annual membership fee (also includes membership into the state organization, Colorado Pharmacists Society), membership deadline is October 1st.

Membership Census 2010-11: 231 members


  • Student Pharmacist & Pharmacy Today magazines
  • Access to Career Center on
  • Leadership positions within APhA-ASP
  • Colorado Pharmacist Society (CPS) membership
  • Network with local pharmacists & professors
  • Reimbursement opportunities for local & national meeting attendance
  • National Patient Counseling Competition (top 10 win free books & 1st prize is a trip to nationals!)
  • Gain experience with patient counseling & opportunities through patient care projects


  • American Pharmacist Month Celebration
  • Immunization Clinics
  • Chapter meeting
  • Visit from APhA Nationals
  • StepOut 5k Diabetes Walk
  • Region 8 Midyear Regional Meeting
  • 24-Hour Fitness Health Fair
  • Project RECOVERY CeDAR
  • World AIDS Day Bake Sale

Officers (2015-2016)


Vivian Ton

President Elect:

Daniel Galipeau

Policy Vice President:

Roger LaBrie

Communications Vice President:

Tong Huang

Membership/Secretary Vice President:

Palak Prasad


Christina Wern

Fundraising Chairs:

Khoa Nguyen, Lindsay Case

Operation Heart Co-Chairs:

Danielle Lauridsen, Wesley Porter

Operation Diabetes Co-Chairs:

Brielle Gabaldon, Sarah Fischer

Operation Immunization Co-Chairs:

Malia Malihi, Michael Abadie

Operation Self-Care Chair:

Abigail Culbert

​International (IPSF) Co-Chairs:​ Whitley Yi, Meghan Lynch, Haaris (Syed) Nizami

Women’s Health Initiative Co-Chairs:

Whitney Pittman, Marilyn Banh

Generation Rx Co-chairs:

Amber Finegan, Emily Waggoner, Chelsea Leiper

Faculty Advisor:

Sarah Scoular, PharmD


Back to chart of organizations