Skip to main content
Sign In

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Message from the Chair

Welcome to the Department​ of Pharmaceutical Sciences (DOPS) which is committed to excellence in teaching, research and service. Our teaching activities are primarily in the PharmD professional program and two PhD programs, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Toxicology, which are based in the department and directed by DOPS faculty members.

The department is a research-intensive environment with dynamic faculty at the forefront of research in their respective disciplines. Research in DOPS is focused in four integrated areas. DOPS continues to build in its core areas of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, Biophysics, Toxicology and Cancer Pharmacology while pursuing new initiatives in Clinical and Translational Sciences, Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery. More details of departmental research can be found on the research page and on individual faculty research pages.


Faculty in the department contribute extensively to professional service by serving on NIH and other grant review panels, as elected officers of scientific societies and on editorial boards of international journals.

The department is also recognized by having three Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (Drs. Agarwal, Carpenter and Ross), Dr. Carpenter is a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) and Dr. Kompella is a Fellow of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO).

David Ross, PhD

Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Professor of Toxicology

Mailing address:

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of Colorado
12850 E. Montview Blvd. C238
Aurora, CO 80045