Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Participating Faculty


 

 

 Leadership:  
 

Jane Reusch, MD

Professor of Medicine

Email: jane.reusch@ucdenver.edu

Website: click here

 

Kurt Stenmark, MD

Professor

Email: kurt.stenmark@ucdenver.edu

Website: click here

 

  

 

Participating Faculty:

Kelly Ambler, PhD

Instructor

Email: Kelly.Ambler@UCDenver.edu

Website:

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Vivek Balasubramaniam, MD

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Email: Vivek.Balasubramaniam@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 

 

David Irwin, PhD

Assistant Professor

Email: david.irwin@ucdenver.edu

Website:

Research Interest:

- Determining therapeutic strategies for the treatment of acute mountain sickness

- Determining the how cerebral hypoxia induces lung injury

- Determining if Nrf2-induction protects the lung or brain against hypoxia induced vascular leak

- Determining the contribution of cell free hemoglobin to vascular diseases secondary to sickle cell anemia

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Dwight Klemm, PhD

Professor

Email: Dwight.Klemm@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 - Pulmonary Hypertension:

 - CREB in Pulmonary Hypertension:

 - Obesity and PH:

 - Obesity:

 - Generation of New Adipocytes From Bone Marrow Stem Cells:

 - CREB and the Production of New Adipocytes:

 

Tim Lei, PhD

Assistant Professor

Email: Tim.Lei@UCDenver.edu

Website:

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Radu Moldovan, PhD

Manager of Advanced Light Microscopy Core Facility

Email: Radu.Moldovan@UCDenver.edu

Website:

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Kerrie Moreau, PhD

Associate Professor

Email: Kerrie.Moreau@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:
1) modulatory influence of sex hormone deficiency (i.e., estrogen, testosterone, DHEA) on cardiovascular aging in women and men, with an emphasis on large elastic artery stiffening, intimal-medial thickening, vascular endothelial dysfunction, and maladapations in cardiac structure and function;

2)  the role of regular exercise, both aerobic and resistance training, in the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular aging; and

3) the biological mechanisms, including the role of oxidative stress and inflammation,  mediating age-, sex hormone deficiency-, and habitual exercise-associated effects on arterial stiffness, intimal-medial thickness, endothelial function, and cardiac function and structure. 

We use a translational research approach to study cardiovascular aging including the use of ultrasound to examine the arteries and heart, systemic infusions to determine the role of oxidative stress, and endothelial protein expression and genotyping to determine molecular mechanisms and genetic influences.

 

Robert C. Murphy, PhD

University Distinguished Professor

Email: Robert.Murphy@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Judith Regensteiner, PhD

Professor of Medicine

Email: Judy.Regensteiner@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 - Exercise impairments in type 2 diabetes

 - Peripheral arterial disease and exercise

 - Women's Health

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Robin Shandas, PhD

Professor

Email: Robin.Shandas@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Wei Tan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Email: Wei.Tan@UCDenver.edu

Website:

Research Interest:
- Vascular Cell Mechanobiology

- Vascular Implant

- Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering

- Microvascular Formation

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)

Rubin Tuder, MD

Professor

Email: Rubin.Tuder@UCDenver.edu

Website: click here

Research Interest:

 

VBI  seminar videodownload

(available only on UCD campus network)