Skip to main content
Sign In


The Given Institute


• The Given Institute is owned by the Regents of the University of Colorado 1972 Groundbreaking Ceremony with and operated under the supervision and direction of the School of Medicine.

• The Given Institute was built in Aspen in 1972 with funds donated by the Irene Heinz Given and John LaPorte Given Foundation on two acres of land donated to the University by Mrs. Elizabeth Paepcke.

• The Given Institute was originally established as an intellectual center to foster interaction between biomedical scientists from across the U.S. and abroad.

• Since its inception, the Given Institute has expanded its original purpose to include a wide array of scientific meetings, seminars and public lectures.

Given Institute Board of Directors


Bruce C. Paton, MD

Director, Given Institute

Richard Krugman, MD

Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs, School of Medicine, University of Colorado

 J. John Cohen, MD, PhD

Professor, Immunology, School of Medicine, University of Colorado

Elizabeth Dart

Founder and President of the Rodwell Dart Memorial Foundation

Mary Dominick

Vice President of Wilderness Workshop

Christopher M. Filley, MD

Professor, S/M Neurology Department, School of Medicine, University of Colorado

Stanley D. Gertzbein, MD

The Aspen Back Institute; Aspen Orthopedic Associates; Clinical Professor, University of Texas - Galveston; Clinical Professor, University of Colorado;
Professor, Baylor College of Medicine

Tom Griffiths

President, Vectra Bank

Philip Holstein

Entrepreneur, Developer

Gail King, MD

Aspen Center for Women’s Health

James P. Kelly, MD

Neuroscience Center, School of Medicine, University of Colorado

Madeleine Larson

Officer, Gustave A. Larson Company
Board of Directors, National Jewish Hospital

Steven H. Lewis, MD, FCAP, FACOG

Clinical Professor, School of Medicine, University of Colorado
Chair, Program Committee

Martin Manosevitz, PhD

Clinical Psychologist

Jay Webster

Local Philanthropist

Michael P. Weissberg, MD

Professor/Director, Psychiatry Medical Student Education, School of Medicine,
University of Colorado

Mark Yarborough, PhD

Director /Associate Professor, Center for Bioethics and Humanities, School of Medicine, University of Colorado


Janet Ferrara

Manager, Given Institute

Laura Merino

Development Officer, Given Institute