Skip to main content
Sign In

Maintenance of Certification Portfolio Approval Program

About MOC
The ABMS MOC process is based on the Six Core Competencies for Quality Patient Care that are foundational requirements for graduate medical education and similarly approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME): medical knowledge, patient care and procedural skills, interpersonal and communication skills, professionalism, practice-based learning and improvement, and systems-based practice.
According to ABMS, the 24 specialty boards commonly adopted four MOC components to serve as a framework for physicians to demonstrate their ongoing professional development and compliance with these six competencies. The four component parts are:
Part I - Licensure and professional standing.  Must hold a valid,
unrestricted medical license in at least one state or jurisdiction in the United
States, its territories, or Canada.
Part II - Lifelong learning and self-assessment.  Participate in
educational and self-assessment programs that meet specialty-specific
standards that are set by their member boards.
Part III - Cognitive expertise.  Demonstrate practice-related and practice
environment–related knowledge to provide quality care (re-certification
Part IV - Assessment of practice performance.  Demonstrate use of best evidence and
practices compared to peers and national benchmarks.
Specific requirements of individual specialty boards vary.  Within this four-part framework each specialty board has developed its own specific requirements, options for meeting them, and timeframes in which they must be met.  For general information about the MOC requirements of each specialty board, see ABMS Specialty BoardsThe CUSOM MOC Program focuses on helping physicians meet requirements for MOC Part IV credit.
History of MOC
With a growing need to promote continuous professional development, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and its 24 member specialty boards implemented the Maintenance of Certification program.  The MOC program was initiated in 2000, but the pace of recertification has accelerated since 2009 after a set of more detailed standards were approved by the ABMS.
Although certain medical specialty boards previously issued lifetime certification to their diplomates, all 24 specialty boards now seek to have their issuance of re-certification demonstrate ongoing compliance with their standards, and reflect greater accountability to the public. As such, these boards now issue time-limited certificates lasting 6-10 years to diplomates who complete the four part process.
Multi-Specialty MOC Portfolio Approval Program
With all 24 specialty boards involved in the ABMS MOC process, a need grew for a single process for healthcare organizations to support physician involvement in quality improvement efforts.  The national Multi-Specialty MOC Portfolio Approval Program offers a streamlined approach for organizations such as CUSOM to sponsor and support multiple well-designed quality improvement efforts involving physicians across multiple disciplines to work with ABMS specialty boards to grant MOC Part IV credit to physicians who are involved in those improvement efforts.
According to the national Multi-Specialty MOC Portfolio Approval Program, in 2009 the Mayo Clinic was the first organization to become a “Portfolio Sponsor”.  Since then this pilot program has led the way for the now dozens Portfolio Sponsors, including CUSOM.