Skip to main content
Sign In

An Archive

News in and around the PT Program

Dr. Mary Jane Rapport

Mary Jane Rapport receives the APTA Section on Pediatrics Bud DeHaven Award

CU Physical Therapy Professor Mary Jane Rapport, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA received the Bud DeHaven award from the APTA Section on Pediatrics at CSM in February, 2014. She was honored for her sustained and extraordinary service to the section. Dr. Rapport's service is evidenced by her involvement and commitment to the Section on Pediatrics since 1985 to the present. Her many roles included: Practice Committee Chair, Conference Chair for Providing School-Based Physical Therapy Under IDEA, Region II Director, Academic Co-Chair Education Committee, SoPAC Conference Committee, Federal Affairs Liaison and Section Delegate. Throughout her career, Dr. Rapport has advocated for the professional development of clinical colleagues and quality of care for the patients we serve. She has the rare ability to inspire personal reflection, open communication and thoughtful action in everyone she meets. Congratulations, Dr. Rapport!


DPT Student Jennifer Hageman publishes article on Global Health

Outlining her efforts to "pay it forward," Jennifer Hageman, SPT published an article in the May edition of the APTA Health Policy $ Administration section on her experiences furthering the cuase of global health initiatives. Read the full article.

Margaret Schenkman, Pt, PhD

Program Director Margaret Schenkman receives $3M grant from NIH

Margaret Schenkman, PT, PhD, FAPTA received a $3 million grant from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NIH) for a multi-center investigation of endurance training for people recently diagnosed with Parkinson's disease. She co-leads this investigation with Daniel Corcos, PhD (University of Illinois, Chicago) and is joined by collaborators at the University of Colorado, Rush Medical Center (Chicago) and the Department of Physical Therapy at University of Pittsburgh.

Senior Instructor Tami Struessel appointed to new Colorado PT Board

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper announced the appointment of five physical therapists and two consumers to the new Colorado Board of Physical Therapy. Legislation forming the Board (SB11-169) authorizes it to promulgate rules and regulations associated with the new Colorado Physical Therapy Practice Act. CU faculty member Tami Struessel, PT, DPT, OCS, MTC will serve a 4 year term on the Board, which began its work on January 1, 2012.
Other Board members include:

  • Britt Smith, PT, DPT - private practice in Grand Junction - 2 year term
  • Carolyn Armstrong, PT, DPT - private practice in Nederland - 3 year term
  • Steve DiPaolo, PT - corporate practice in Lakewood - 3 year term
  • Ann Dinsmore, PT - hospital practice in Fort Collins - 4 year term
  • Marion Wells (4 yr. term) and Cindy Charlton (2 yr. term) - public members

For more information on the State of Colorado Board of Physical Therapy, visit the Department of Regulatory Affairs (DORA).

Class of 2013 students inspire fitness at Aurora Central High School

Nine students and PT faculty Betti Krapfl worked with students at Aurora Central High School, teaching students about using pedometers, calculating their heart rate, and how to maximize their activity. Our students also performed balance tests as an introduction to physical therapy, and taught the class about the benefits of aerobic fitness.  A competition to get the highest number of steps was held the following week, and prizes were awarded& to the top finishers. A highlight of the day was the teacher sharing with the class about how our program inspired him to begin training for a half marathon.

Students & Faculty raise $3,655 in ACS Relay for Life

A team of 20 students and 3 faculty from the CU Physical Therapy Program, led by Dr. Eric Sawyer, participated in the American Cancer Society Relay for Life. Beginning at noon on Saturday September 10th, at least one person was “on the track,” until 7am on Sunday morning.  Our team raised $3,655 to remember loved ones lost, and fight back against the disease.

2011 APTA Advocacy Challenge 

Students win 2011 APTA Advocacy Challenge

The APTA Student Advocacy Challenge was created to inspire PT and PTA students to get involved in advocacy on the state and federal levels. Our students hosted state legislators on campus, met with state lobbyists, held “lunch-and-learn” lectures and have been committed to writing letters to our legislators. One of most interesting experiences was the 1st Annual CU PT Legislative Day at the Colorado State Capitol, where 30 students from our program met with legislators in small groups, and spoke about issues involving the sunset of our Practice Act.


The APTA Colorado Chapter Mentoring Committee

Co-chairs Jennifer Hide, DPT (CU alumna) and Robyn Gisbert, DPT (CU PT faculty) have built this committee within the Colorado Chapter. Informational documents are now available on a new mentor/mentee "members-only" web page. These documents address: the process of preparing to be a mentor or mentee, the relationships between mentor and mentee, entering into a mentor agreement, and more! Most importantly, a mentor database is now available for those members seeking a mentor. Please login and click on "Vital Info for Members" to access the "For Mentors & Mentees" web page and take advantage of this new member benefit!

Jennifer Stevens-Lapsley, PT, PhD, was awarded the awarded the 2011 Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Faculty Member, by the American Physical Therapy Association. Dr. Stevens created two new required courses for the DPT program: Applied Exercise Science, which integrates exercise science with clinical realities; and the last in a 4-course series on Scientific Inquiry, where she provides students with unique opportunities to integrate evidence with clinical practice, especially as it relates to applied exercise physiology. In these courses, she challenges students to develop critical thinking and professionalism while providing them with guidance and support. Read more...


Mary Jane Rapport, PT, DPT, PhD was appointed by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy to serve on the PT Practice Analysis Task Force. This group will create a blueprint for the next National Physical Therapy Licensure Examination.

Dr. Rapport has also been selected as a member of the University of Colorado Academy of Medical Educators. This membership signifies a commitment toand excellence in medical education on the Anschutz Medical Campus.

The APTA Colorado Chapter recently announced Jennifer Hide, DPT as recipient of the Emerging Leader Award. This award identifies & honors one “emerging leader” from each APTA chapter or section. The recipient must have demonstrated extraordinary service early in his or her physical therapy career and made exceptional overall accomplishments and contributions to the APTA, and the physical therapy profession to advance APTA’s vision.

Dana Judd PT, DPT, received the 2011 Clinical Investigation Track, Outstanding Doctoral Student Award, for the Clinical Sciences Doctoral Program.

Anschutz Medical Campus continues to expand!

Tower at The Children’s Hospital, 10 stories, $230M, opening 2012
New Wellness Center, 4 stories, $26M, opening 2012
Fulginiti Pavilion for Ethics and Humanities, opening 2012
Tower at Univ. of Colorado Hospital, 12 stories, $400M, opening 2013
New Veterans Affairs Medical Center, 4 stories, $800M+, opening 2015