Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Mentored Scholarly Activity

Scholarship for Life Long Learning


The MSA project is a four year requirement for all undergraduate medical students. The project culminates in a capstone presentation in Phase IV prior to graduation. The goal of the MSA curriculum is to foster self-directed, life-long learning over the course of the medical student career. The MSA requires students to identify and work with a mentor to complete their projects, which also prepares them for working with mentors in their careers and serving as mentors to others in the medical profession.

Learning Objectives:

    • Demonstrate progress through the Phases and display independence and collaboration.
    • Demonstrate ability to formulate a specific problem statement, question, hypothesis or aim.
    • Demonstrate ability to work effectively with a mentor.
    • Demonstrate ability to critically review and analyze literature on an important scholarly topic.
    • Demonstrate ability to prepare a scholarly project with appropriate methods and develop a plan to complete the project.
    • Demonstrate ability to synthesize and present results of a scholarly project.

 

Assessment: Grading will be pass/fail, assessed at the end of each semester based on the student meeting the expectations and requirements for that particular phase of the curriculum. The final grade in Phase IV will be determined by the Director, Mentor, Associate Director and a team of faculty evaluators.

 

MSA Course Director: Allan Prochazka, MD
Allan.Prochazka@ucdenver.edu  303-399-8020 ext. 2144

Thematic Areas and Associate Directors:

Basic Biomedical Science – Robert Sclafani, PhD Robert.Sclafani@ucdenver.edu
Clinical Science – Allan Prochazka, MD Allan.Prochazka@ucdenver.edu
Epidemiology, Public & Community Health – Rita Lee, MD Rita.Lee@ucdenver.edu
Global Health – Jennifer Bellows, MD, Jennifer.bellows@dhha.org
Bioethics, Humanities
Arts, & Education – Jackie Glover, PhD Jackie.Glover@ucdenver.edu

Program Coordinator: Cody Miller - Cody.Miller@ucdenver.edu​  303-724-4161


MSA Library Liaison:  Lynne Fox - Lynne.Fox@ucdenver.edu  303-724-2121
​​