Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Surgical Subspecialties


  • BURN SURGERY: Report to the UCH Burn Unit (third floor) at 8 a.m. Contact Gordon Lindberg, MD, for further information (gordon.lindberg@ucdenver.edu or 303.266.6109).
     
    CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY: Linsey Kasper will send you reporting information (303.724.2801 or linsey.kasper@ucdenver).  David Mauchley, MD, (Thoracic Surgery Chief Resident, pager 303.266.7586) will be your primary contact for the rotation.  If you cannot contact Dr. Mauchley, call Linsey Kasper to find out which resident is rotating on the Cardiac Rotation for that month, as the cardiac resident is the most senior resident.  You will be working in two hospitals, VAMC and UCH. 
     
    Here is the contact information for the 5 Thoracic Surgery Residents for AY2014-15:
    1.      David Mauchley, MD, Chief Resident, Pager:  303-266-7586
    2.      Justin Reeves, MD, 2nd Year Resident, Pager:  303-266-4675
    3.      Ryan Shelstad, MD, 2nd Year Resident, Pager:  303-266-4538
    4.      Ed Bergeron, MD, 1st Year Resident, Pager:  303-266-1828
    5.      Giorgio Zanotti, MD, 1st Year Resident, Pager:  303-266-1829
     
    NEUROSURGERY: Krystin Martinez will send you contact information for the Neurosurgical Resident at your assigned hospital. Reporting time is usually 6:30 a.m.  Krystin.Martinez@ucdenver.edu or 303.724.2303. The following website will link you to the Neurosurgery Medical Student Curriculum. You are expected to download, read, and review the Curriculum.
     
    2.   Required Textbook - Neurosurgery: An Introductory Text.   Author: Black, Peter M.
     
    OPHTHALMOLOGY: Contact Jacqui Trujillo for your reporting information 720.848.2500 or Jacqui.Trujillo@ucdenver.edu. Ophthalmology rotations may take place at UCH, CHC, DHMC, VAMC or at a combination thereof.  Please be ready to inform Ms. Trujillo of your current ID badge status at each of these facilities when you make initial contact.  
     
    OTOLARYNGOLOGY: Alicia Gore will e-mail information to you about this elective.  You may contact her at Alicia.Gore@ucdenver.edu or 303.724.1957. Her office is in Academic Office One, Room 3001.
     
    PEDIATRIC SURGERY: Elizabeth Winders (720.777.5506 or Elizabeth.Winders@childrenscolorado.org). Contact Elizabeth several days before you start at Children’s. She will give you reporting information. If she is not available, you may page the 4th Year Resident listed on the roster. Surgery Site Preceptor is Frederick Karrer, MD.
     
    PLASTIC AND RECONSTRUCTIVE SURGERY: Fred Deleyiannis, MD, is the rotation director. Contact Kathy Vavrina for your schedule, Kathy.Vavrina@childrenscolorado.org or 720.777.3880 (e-mail preferred) or Mandy Whitton (Mandy.Whitton@ucdenver.edu or 303.724.2792). You will work at UCH and CHC.
     
    TRANSPLANT SURGERY: The day before you begin, contact Kendra Conzen, MD, transplant fellow, (cell phone 303.503.6282, Kendra.conzen@ucdenver.edu for reporting information. If Dr. Conzen is not available, contact the third year Transplant resident, listed on the general surgery residency roster. Michael Wachs, MD, is the rotation director. You will work at UCH.
     
    UROLOGY: Kathy Politis or Therese Inman will e-mail you reporting information and a weekly schedule.  You may contact them at Katherine.Politis@ucdenver.edu or 303.724.2712 and/or Therese.Inman@ucdenver.edu or 303.724.7800.    Ty Higuchi, MD is the rotation director. You will work at UCH.  Students are expected to read and apply the core content of the National Medical Student Curriculum during their rotation.  The core content can be found at the following URL:   https://www.auanet.org/education/education-for-medical-students.cfm.
     
    VASCULAR SURGERY: Omid Jazaeri, MD, is the rotation director. You will work at UCH. Contact Dr. Jazaeri by email or cell phone for reporting information Omid.Jazaeri@ucdenver.edu or 720.258.5526.