Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Surgical Subspecialties


  • Burn Surgery: Report to the UCH Burn Unit (third floor) at 8 a.m. Contact Gaurav Chandra, MD, Burn Fellow, for further information, Gaurav.Chandra@ucdenver.edu or (pager) 303-266-0390. 

  • Cardiothoracic Surgery: Karen Muth will send you reporting information Karen.Muth@ucdenver.edu or 303-724-2798.  Sagar Damle, MD, (cardiothoracic fellow, pager 303-266-3653) will be your primary contact for the rotation.  If you cannot contact Dr. Damle, you may contact David Mauchley, MD, (303-266-7586), the other cardiothoracic fellow. You will be working in two hospitals, VAMC and UCH.

  • Neurosurgery: Krystin Martinez will send you contact information for the Neurosurgical Resident at your assigned hospital. Reporting time is usually 6:30 a.m.  Krystin.Martinez@ucdenver.edu or 303-724-2303. The following website will link you to the Neurosurgery Medical Student Curriculum. You are expected to download, read, and review the Curriculum.

     1.  Curriculum  http://w3.cns.org/education/medStudCur/index.asp

     2.  Required Textbook - Neurosurgery: An Introductory Text.   Author: Black, Peter M.

  • Ophthalmology: Contact Regula Randolph for your reporting information Regula.Randolph@ucdenver.edu or 720-848-2507.  Most ophthalmology rotations will be done at UCH.

  • Otolaryngology: Tanya Reesman will e-mail information to you about this elective.  You may contact her at Tanya.Reesman@ucdenver.edu or 303-724-1950. Her office is in Academic Office One, Room 3001.

  • Pediatric Surgery: Please contact Sandra Floyd at least one day before you start your pediatric surgery rotation (720-777-5506, Sandra.Floyd@childrenscolorado.org). She will give you reporting information. If she is not available, you may page the 4th year resident listed on the roster given to you at orientation. Surgery Site Preceptor is Frederick Karrer, MD.

  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery: Fred Deleyiannis, MD, is the rotation director. Contact Kathy Vavrina for your schedule, Kathy.Vavrina@childrenscolorado.org or 720-777-3880 (email preferred) or Mandy Whitton (Mandy.Whitton@ucdenver.edu or 303-724-2792). You will work at UCH and CHC.
  • Transplant Surgery: The day before you begin, contact Jon Roach, MD, transplant fellow (cell phone 303-518-2268, Jonathan.Roach@ucdenver.edu). If Dr. Roach is not available, contact the third year Transplant resident, listed on the general surgery residency roster. Michael Wachs, MD, is the rotation director. You will work at UCH.
  • Urology: Lupe Pacheco will e-mail you reporting information and a weekly schedule.  You may contact her at Guadalupe.Pacheco@ucdenver.edu or 303-724-7800.  She will have a book for you to pick up at the Urology Office, AO1, Room 5602.  Jane Petersen, MD, is the rotation director. You will work at two hospitals, UCH and VAMC.

  • Vascular Surgery: Omid Jazaeri, MD, is the rotation director. You will work at UCH. contact Dr. Jazaeri by email or cellphone for reporting information. Omid.Jazaeri@ucdenver.edu or 720-258-5526.