Skip to main content
Sign In

News from the Academy of Medical Educators and Faculty Affairs


School of Medicine Basic Science Department Chairs Share Their Views on the Integrated Medical School Curriculum

How to best integrate basic science and clinical teaching in the undergraduate medical school curriculum has been debated for many years, and according to researchers Robin Hopkins and colleagues,[1] the discussions have led to “incremental change but no meaningful transformation.” They contend this is due, in part, to a lack of focus on the basic science educators, whose roles changed significantly with the implementation of integrated, centrally-managed curricula.

Read more.​

Carol Rumack, MD Receives Elizabeth Gee Memorial Lectureship Award

Dr. Rumack, professor of radiology-diagnostics, was honored as a “pioneering woman” at the CU Women Succeeding Professional Development Symposium, where she was presented with The Elizabeth D. Gee Memorial Lectureship Award. The award recognizes and honors an outstanding faculty member of the University of Colorado for efforts to advance women in academia, interdisciplinary scholarly contributions and distinguished teaching.

Recommended Reading:

Seeking a System that Treats Us All Humanely

“Creating a culture of respect is not just about feeling good, for its own sake. It’s better for patient care.”

Read more.

Recommended Reading:

Physician Burnout: What to Do When Working Harder Isn't Working

“The first step-by-step manual for any physician in any specialty to stop physician burnout, build a more ideal practice and a more balanced life.”

Read more.

[1] Hopkins R, Pratt D, Bowen J, Regehr, G. Integrating basic science without integrating basic scientists: reconsidering the place of individual teachers in curriculum reform. Academic Medicine. Feb. 2015. 90:2, 149-153.