Skip to main content
Sign In

Welcome to the Department of Surgery

Surgery Banner Image
 

Medical Student Program

Operative & Perioperative Care (IDPT 7050)


IDPT 7050, Operative/Perioperative Care, is a required course for all medical students in the CU School of Medicine, taken during the third year of medical school. Students study surgical disease processes and therapeutic procedures in perioperative settings, while gaining operative experience in general surgery and clinical anesthesiology. The course focuses on the assessment and management of common inpatient episodes of care and ambulatory surgical problems. 

Course Directors  

Thomas A. Whitehill, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
Administrative Office One, Room 5404
OR
Veteran’s Administration Medical Center
Room 4B117
Phone: 303-393-2863
Fax:  303-393-5235
Thomas.Whitehill@va.gov
Pager:  303-266-9050

Assistant Course Directors
T Brett Reece, MD
Assistant Professor, Surgery
Brett.Reece@ucdenver.edu
303-724-2799
Academic Office One, Room 6602

Alison Brainard, MD
Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology
Leprino Office Building, 7th floor
Phone: 720-848-5566 Alison.Brainard@ucdenver.edu
Cell Phone:  720-353-8589 

 

 

 

Allison Long, MD
Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology
Veterans's Adminisstration Medical Center
4th Floor, 4B107
Phone: 303-393-2883
Allison.Long@va.gov
Cell Phone: 720-987- 4298

Course Coordinators  

Mary Kay Anderson
Department of Surgery
Academic Office 1, Box C291
12631 E. 17th Avenue,
L15-5402
Aurora, CO   80045
Phone:  303-724-2681
Fax:  303-724-2682
Mary.K.Anderson@ucdenver.edu

Kathy Riggs
Department of Anesthesiology
Academic Office 1, Box B113
12631 E. 17th Avenue,
L15-2113
Aurora, CO   80045
Phone:  303-724-1765
Fax:  303-724-1761
Kathy.Riggs@ucdenver.edu

IDPT 7050 Syllabus