Skip to main content
Sign In

News and Events

Department News ​​​​ ​​​

Gidon Felsen, Ph.D.
  • Gidon Felsen was awarded a competing renewal on his R01.

Dan Tollin, Ph.D.
  • ​​Dan Tollin was invited to lecture: 'Creating a Sense of Auditory Space,' Macquarie University's Hearing Hub, October 22-26, Sydney Australia.

  • Dan Tollin was awarded a competing renewal on his R01.


Joel Zylberbeg, Ph.D.

  • Joel Zylberberg gave the Computer Science colloquium at the University of Victoria: "How the neurons in the brain represent the outside world (and how those representations are learned)"

  • Joel Zylberberg was awarded a Sloan Fellowship. 

Alon Poleg-Polsky, Ph.D.​
  • Alon Poleg-Polsky has joined the department as our newest faculty member​.


Liz McCullagh,
Post Doc (Klug Lab)​
  • Liz McCullagh (Klug Lab) was awarded a grant by the Hearing Health Foundation and was awarded a place on the Ruth Kirschstein NRSA Institutional Research Training Grant for Otolaryngology (T32) 

  • Liz McCullagh (Klug Lab) was awarded a grant from Fraxa.

​Sukumar Vijayaraghavan, Ph.D.
  • Sukumar Vijayaraghavan was appointed the director of the Center for Neuroscience. 
​Andrew Brown, PostDoc
(Tollin Lab)
  • ​​Andrew has received an Assistant Professorship with the University of Washington, Seattle. His new position will start in January, 2018.

​Jacki Essig, NSP Student (Felsen Lab
  • ​Jacki was awarded a Trainee Professional Development Awardfrom the Society for Neuroscience. 
  • Jacki was awarded an individual F31 NRSA from the NINDS
  • Jacki received a travel award from the Werner and Kitty Hirs Research Travel Award.
​Shelly Jones, PreDoc Trainee
(Schoppa & 
Zyberberg Lab)
  • Shelly was awardeda placeon the Ruth Kirchstein NRSA Institutional research Training Grant for Otolaryngology (T32)
​Tollin Lab
Dan Tollin, Ph.D.
  • ​The Tollin Lab was awarded a DOD grant entitled "Development of human injury risk algorithm informed by finding animal studies."
​Christy Beitzel, PreDoc Trainee (Person Lab)
  • ​Christy received ab SfN Trainee Professional Development Award.

​Matt Becker,
MSTP Student (Person Lab)
  • ​Matt received the Werner and Kitty Hirs Research Travel Award.
  • Matt received an individual F31 NRSA from the NINDS.
​Callie Federer, Research Assistant
(Zylberberg Lab)
  • ​Callie was awarded a National Science Foundation Fellowship.

​Ted Doyoks, 
NSP Student (Person Lab)
  • Ted received the Werner and Kitty Hirs Research Travel Award.

Department Events​​​​ ​​
​                       Event Name and Date   
​​                     Event Location 
                   January 18, 2018, 10 AM
          Ming-Feng Tsai, Faculty Candidate Seminar                      
                        RC1N - 6107
                   January 22, 2018, 10 AM
          Rene Barro, Faculty Candidate Seminar   ​
                        RC1N - 6107
                         ​​​For more information on events cont​​act: