Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Obesity


Our faculty members conduct diverse obesity research to impact vulnerable populations that include pregnant and lactating women, infants and young children, minority families in low resource settings, schools and daycares, and rural communities. 
 

​ ​ ​Developmental Programming

Nancy Krebs, MD, MS
nancy.krebs@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3260

​Determinants of excessive infant weight gain  related to maternal phenotype and antenatal exposures, postnatal feeding, bioactive components of human milk, alterations in enteric microbiome

Sarah J. Borengasser, PhD
sarah.borengasser@ucdenver.edu 
303-724-9550

​Early origins of obesity and epigenetic influences
​​Kristen Boyle, PhD
kristen.boyle@ucdenver.edu
303-724-5969

​Molecular and metabolic pathways whereby fetal exposure to maternal obesity or gestational diabetes contributes to excess adiposity at birth and later in life, using a human stem cell model

 

Katherine A. Sauder, PhD
katherine.sauder@ucdenver.edu

Behavioral epidemiological associations of maternal, perinatal, and early life factors with maternal and child health outcomes

Minghua Tang, PhD
minghua.tang@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3248
​​Obesity treatment and prevention through dietary interventions and effects of the gut microbiome on body weight and health status

Bridget E. Young, PhD
bridget.young@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3309

​Study of how bioactive components in human milk and different carbohydrate sources of infant formula may program infant obesity risk
 
  

​ ​ ​Family Context/Parenting

Richard Boles, PhD
richard.boles@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3312

Examination of how the home food, activity, and sleep environment influence child health behaviors within the context of family functioning 

Darcy Thompson, MD, MPH
darcy.thompson@ucdenver.edu
303-724-7471   

​Identification of modifiable family and individual factors contributing to development of obesity in preschool-aged children, with focus on minority populations and media use 
 
  

​ ​ ​Intervention

Richard Boles, PhD
richard.boles@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3312

​Examining the efficacy of pediatric obesity interventions using family-based behavioral treatments at both family homes and community-based settings linked with primary care

​Matthew Haemer, MD
mathew.haemer@ucdenver.edu
720-777-7474

Community and primary care based intervention for prevention and treatments of childhood obesity, using electronic decision-support tool; development of algorithms, provider training, and decision support for primary care settings; obesity outcomes research & application of implementation science in high risk populations

Susan L. Johnson, PhD
susan.johnson@ucdenver.edu
303-724-2923

​Intervention to prevent early childhood obesity in  children through feeding and physical activity

Katherine A. Sauder, PhD
katherine.sauder@ucdenver.edu
Behavioral interventions to 1) improve diabetes risk factors in Native children and 2) reduce maternal obesity before or during pregnancy
Minghua Tang, PhD
minghua.tang@ucdenver.edu
303-724-3248
​Obesity treatment and prevention through dietary interventions and effects of the gut microbiome on body weight and health status